bed rest

well, after our 35 week appointment and a 24 hour visit at the hospital, the doctor determined that my amniotic fluid levels are low and that I need to be put on bed rest.  Wow! I was not expecting this at all.  So, it looks like any attempt to exercise, cook, clean, and do my regular work activities are out the window.  Which is fine.  I completely believe that following the doctors orders for the safety of my baby and I is what is needed.  However, I’m not going to lie, as busy as I like to be, this is going to be tough!  Luckily, I have family and friends that are supportive and so helpful. Yesterday my mom ran errands for me and had us over for dinner.  Tonight, my mother-in-law and her husband are coming to visit so it will be nice to have them around too.

I had so many to-do’s, errands, and things I wanted to accomplish before the baby comes.  But, I guess sometimes you can’t always plan this like you want to.  God has a way of throwing a wrench in your plans and making you realize that we are never really in control and just have to surrender to a higher plan.  So, I will be doing lots of reading and lounging.  Perhaps I can start browsing and creating a good recipe collection, find some insightful blogs, and do some baby preparation reading.  I don’t really enjoy tv that much but hopefully can find some good movies to keep me occupied!

Leave a Reply

