running plans

Because a gal has to have goals, I’ve started looking into some local races that I start participating in.  Since January through April is a busy time for my husband, local events will be easier to participate in and hopefully I can focus on some longer/out-of town races once he has wrapped up his busy season and OK gets a little older.  So, here are some options for me:

  • Reindeer Run – 12/4.  Along with the race, this event is held in conjunction with the Downtown Festival of Lights and includes classic Christmas movies, lighting of the Christmas tree, Santa Clause, street dance, Bethlehem Village, Live Nativity Scene, opening of third street restaurants and shops, the Old Governor’s mansion open house, and ice skating.
  • Mardi Gras Mambo – 2/20.  A flat, easy course to run and celebrate Mardi Gras in the capital city.
  • Fat Boy 5k – 3/28 – a Baton Rouge favorite, I have been wanting to run this for years!

Hopefully, I can start ease into some races to get me motivated to start running again.

Leave a Reply

