weekend recap

Well, I missed my run workout on Thursday and instead had dinner at my parents.  I thought I would try and makeup for it and do two runs this weekend but we’ll see how the day goes with OK.  Plus, I feel the need to have some family time with my husband and daughter.

So, Friday I did a repeat of Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred and Saturday I did the Couch to 5k repeat workout.  It seems easier on my knees now that I have my new shoes but I was so tired late Saturday from the run (which I did at the park with the hills) combined with the busyness of the day (we took OK to her first tailgate!).  Overall, I think this has been a pretty good week (2 strength workouts and 3 cardio – 2 runs and one walk).  I may try and sneak in a run or walk today, we’ll see how the day goes.

I’m starting to dream about the day where the hubby, OK, and I can load up the car, head out for a race and enjoy a nice Saturday morning.  Until then, I’m going to have to work up to running a 5k and find the time to run with a two month old and a busy, working husband.

For the first few weeks of OK’s life, I felt overwhelmed with the thought of taking care of a newborn, the house, dog, cooking, and all the other responsibilities of life but I am gradually getting the hang of my new role as a mother. The lack of sleep certainly has not helped with this either! Somehow I have managed to make running a priority throughout my life despite the demands of college, my career, etc. so I know I will continue to make this a priority while balancing it with the other obligations and life responsibilities.  I certainly understand though why some mothers feel tired! Unlike my job, caring for children is a 24/7 job.  But, I feel so much more invested and fulfilled in this job than I ever did during my career because I know I am contributing to helping a person grow and develop into a responsible adult.  Still, it is a bit daunting knowing that my husband and I are responsible for the formation and development of this tiny, perfect little being!

Leave a Reply

