time flies..

Well, I amazed that it is already Friday! The weeks seem to fly by with Miss Olivia Kate.  So far this week, I did another Jillian Micheal’s 30 day workout session, a run/walk on Tuesday and finished up a run this morning.  Here was the workout:

  • Walk 5 minutes
  • Run 10 minutes
  • Walk 3 minutes
  • Run 10 minutes
  • Walk 2 minutes

This has been a tough week sleep wise because the little one has been keeping me up all hours of the night! So, I’m just happy to have gotten some workouts in. I’m going to try and do my last run on Sunday because we are having company in town this weekend.

As I was running this morning, sleep deprived, I began to think that any normal, non-runner would probably think I am crazy for running.  Or, they would look at it as a vain attempt to get back in shape post-baby.  While I am still not in running form yet, I began to think about why I spend all this time and effort focusing on running. Yes, I do feel pretty crazy at times because I feel like I should be resting after being up all night. And yes, I am motivated to get back into my skinny jeans.  But, as I run I realize that it is has become so much more than that to me.

I love to run, to compete.  I love the freedom that running provides just to escape from it all and enjoy some time outside.  I love that running  makes me feel so strong, focused, and empowered.  I feel like after a good run I am strong and can take on the world.  Yes, I do love racing, seeing my mileage add up each week, and reaching a personal record.  But it has become so much more than that to me.  It is a time to escape and do some that I am passionate about that is just for me.  I can be competitive, aggressive, and free.  So much of my life I spend being a people pleaser but with running I can just throw caution to the wind and go! I hope I am always able to have this or something in my life that provides me with this sense of empowerment and freedom.

Leave a Reply

