a new year

I love the idea of a new year, a new week, a fresh start.  Since I feel like the majority of 2009 was spent being pregnant, I feel like I have time to get back into some of my goals for 2010.  I keep hearing that if you write your goals/wishes down, you are more likely to achieve them.  So, here are some of the things I would like to work on in 2010.  I’ll try and focus on how I achieve them by writing the short term steps I take each week.

  1. Strength train more (Ideally, I would like 2x/week of weights and 1x/week for yoga)
  2. Get back into running shape and start some races (5k, 10k, and a half marathon)
  3. Get involved in my church.  Initially I would like to attend Sunday School regularly, go to worship service.  Later on I would like to join a bible study and a service group.
  4. Be open to make new friends and strengthen personal relationships.
  5. Look into options for part-time positions to supplement our income.
  6. Journal and take pictures of Olivia.
  7. Create an online photo book of her first year.
  8. Lose five pounds
  9. Become a more positive person and focus on my blessings in life.
  10. Work on communicating my feelings to others.
  11. Cook more and try one new recipe per week.
  12. Read more and watch less tv.

So, this is just some ideas.  We’ll see how I do.  But, I did start off the day right with some weights and ab work.  I am thinking about taking Olivia for a walk but it is pretty chilly for her! Plus, I feel like I have gotten a lot done so far today and finally managed to really clean and mop (which I always dread), the kitchen!

Last week, I was able to get in 12 miles for the week and run four times a week.  It helped that my husband was home but I would like to work on week two of the half marathon training.  I am going to try and get up and run before Olivia’s early feeding at six so I can get my run in first thing in the morning and not put it off for later on in the day.  I was hoping to wait to start running early once she began sleeping all night but that does not seem to be happening any time soon, so I am going to try and see how this goes.  Plus, I know I can always take a nap later on in the day if I get tired!

Leave a Reply

