400s….

Run: 3.5 miles (1.25 mile warmup, 2X400 w/ 400 RI, and 1.25 mile cooldown) 28:05.

It has been a while since I have done 400 meter intervals so I was not sure what to expect….after reading into the FIRST Training Program, I finally decided to fork over a couple of bucks to buy the Run Less Run Faster book to check out this whole three day a week running trend.  While I admit I am a bit hesitant to let go of my 4-5+/week training days and higher mileage I thought I would try it out before I commit to using this training program for a marathon.  There were three 5k training programs and while I think the Intermediate plan is a bit easier than what I am used to, I would rather underestimate my abilities than get hurt or burnt out using the 5k plan which starts off with 8×400 intervals.  I’m not sure if I can sustain the 1:32 400 meter pace  yet for eight intervals. But, we’ll see how a couple of weeks into the program goes before I decide to bump up to the next plan.

So, I set out and ran 1.25 miles easy and did 2 X400 repeats at 1:30 and 1:27 pace.  Based on my most recent 5k time of 21:11, my target pace was 1:32 for the 400 meter interval, so I was a bit on the faster side but I had not paced a 5k interval in a while so I was not sure what to expect.  I will definitely need to be closer to the 1:32 goal as the 400 intervals increase over the course of the 12 week plan.  But overall, I ran 3.5 miles in 28:05 which is just over an 8:01 pace. The recovery felt fine and I think this workout will be easier to pace if I run on a track rather than just running through my neighborhood but I need to find a local track to run on. I felt pretty good and the 400s were not bad at all.  We’ll see how the rest of the week goes!

So, we’ll see how this plan goes!

Leave a Reply

