a little fatigued…

On Sunday I woke up still feel tired and to a fussy baby at 5:50 am.  I was seriously doubting whether or not I wanted to do my three mile run @ mid-tempo pace but I decided to head out anyway and give it a try.  After a one mile warmup I started my second mile trying to keep the 7:27 goal pace.  Looking at my Garmin, my pace seemed like it was all over the place and despite some dips into the low 7s and upper 7:40 pace, I managed to get three solid miles at my goal pace.  I did a one mile cooldown for a total of five miles (8:36, 7:25, 7:24, 7:22, and 8:22).  I felt pretty happy about that given that it was really HOT even at 7:00 in the morning and I was seriously doubting my ability to run three miles at this pace.  Especially since a couple of weeks ago my splits for my tempo run were about 7:40.

Today, I had 3X400s planned. I again woke up not wanting to do any type of speedwork but after starting an easy warmup of about 1.25 miles I decided to go ahead and go for it.  I did 3 X400s @ 1:28, 1:34, 1:34 with 400 RI and a 1.25 mile cooldown for a total of 3.75 miles.  My goal pace is 1:32 for the 400s so I was a bit slower but given that I was running in my neighborhood and on the lookout for traffic, I think I would be faster if I ran these on the track.

So, two solid workouts in.  Yesterday I just rested and I am thinking of adding in an easy day of running so that I have three workouts and one easy run.  I know the FIRST program calls for three intense days and two cross training days but until I can find a better stationary bike and/or access to a gym where I can bike or swim, I might just run four days a week and do some strength and YOGA.

Alright, Miss Olivia is calling me…got to go!

Leave a Reply

