dog days of summer

well, it has deftinately been a hot summer here in South Louisiana.  The hot, humid days make me long for fall….

I realized it has been a while since I have blogged.  I guess being busy could count as an exscuce but really, I have not been able to run so I have been a bit frustrated with my body.  In mid-June, after my trip to Chicago, my heel started to really bother me.  It had been bothering me for a while but I just ignored it.  I stopped running and finally went to the doctor only to hear the dreaded word:  plantar fascitis.

So, I have been stretching, icing, taking ibuprofen.  I have been trying to do Yoga too to stay flexible.  Unfortunately, we don’t have a gym membership so while I should have been biking and swimming, I have been really busy taking care of my 10+ month old daughter.  My goal is to start building mileage to train for a December half-marathon.  Hopefully, I have not lost too much fitness.

But, with the last truly hot month of summer, fall is just around the corner.  So, I am dreaming of cooler mornings and long runs…..

Leave a Reply

