listen to my body…

I was finally able to go to yoga last night and was so thankful to have that hour to stretch, breathe, and strengthen.  As I am struggling to get into these poses, I realize that I really need to focus on stretching and taking care of my body.  I guess at 18 or 19, you think you are invincible and neglect these things.  But, now that I am thirty, my body can no longer tolerate this abuse (as evidenced by my injury).  I think post-baby I was so focused on fitting in time to run that I neglected to stretch and strengthen.  So, I am hoping to incorporate yoga more often and STRETCH.

This morning, I was up for an easy walk/run.  My heel was hurting when I started so I was wondering if it was a good idea to run or not but after I warmed up it started to feel better.  So, I did this routine:

  • 5 minute warmup
  • 90 second jog, 90 second walk
  • 3 minute jog, 3 minute walk (repeated twice)
  • 5 minute jog
  • 2 minute walk, for a total of 30 minutes

After stretching, I feel pretty good.  I just hope by August 30th I am better enough to join the half marathon training group.  I figure I will take it easy trying to build the mileage but I really want to run with a group again!!! I just love the idea of meeting folks out at the lakes on an early Saturday morning for a run.  I know, such a nerd, but it is the little things that make me happy!

Leave a Reply

