holiday challenge

So, I have been half-heartedly writing a blog about my running goals, plans, and new life as a mom.  However, I think I would like to put some more effort (and more frequent posts) into this blog. I started reading blogs a year or two ago.  I think it was a slow day at work. Not that I recommend doing this on your free time at work, but I loved hearing the stories from other runners and fitness enthusiasts.  In college, it was easy to stay motivated when I participated on my school’s cross country and track team.  But, once I entered the working world (and now working consists of chasing my toddler around all day), it is nice to connect and read the stories from other runners.  Plus, with my busy schedule as a mom, I don’t always have time to make it out to a social run/group run with the local running clubs.  So, reading and hopefully blogging more helps me stay on track!

Now, I am super impressed with some of the blogs I have seen out there.  But since I have a VERY busy toddler and am also working part-time, I hope to get a couple of good posts a week.  But, I don’t think I will manage to have multiple posts a day of all the beautiful meals I eat.  I am actually lucky if I get to sit down for lunch.  Usually, the minute I sit down I find myself chasing around my little girl fast enough to keep her from getting into all kinds of trouble.  Yes, a mobile toddler changes your life and my house may never be truly clean/organized again!

One of my favorite blogs to read is N Her Shoes.  I find her blog really motivating and I love all her recipes and organizational tips! Today she posted about the Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge and I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to pick up the pace and get my running/yoga into gear for the holiday season.  The info about the challenge is posted here:

 Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge

So, now that I seem to be recovering from my plantar fasciitis, I have my eye on the Mardi Gras Half-Marathon in New Orleans this February. I am going to try and follow the novice Hal Higdon Half-Marathon Training.  This is a pretty easy schedule but I want to build my mileage gradually and slowly.  At this point, I just want to focus on building mileage through long, slow, distance runs and a couple of easy runs in the week.  Hopefully, it my foot can stay healthy through this plan, I can tackle 13.1 in February!

Alright, well, I better head off.  We have company coming in town for the LSU/Ole Miss game and are heading to my in-laws for Thanksgiving so I have lots of packing, shopping, baking, and house cleaning to do! But, I’ll close with a picture of my cutie all dressed up in her lady bug costume!

IMG_0249

Leave a Reply

