thankful for a run….

So, I went to my hot yoga, as usual, on Tuesday night. It was a great workout and was home by 9 pm or so. I had the coffee made, the running clothes ready, and the alarm set for 5:30 am to get up Wednesday morning so I could get my morning run in before the little one wakes up (usually sometime obetween 6:15 and 6:30). Well, after a rough night sleep and another alarm going off (that would be Olivia screaming because she woke up early and refused to go back to sleep), I missed my morning run. So, by the time we made it home from Olivia’s 15 month checkup and vaccinations, I had a very cranky toddler on my hands and a very frazzled mommy!

My husband had a meeting after work tonight, so I decided to get out the jogging stroller and go for a run after her nap around the LSU lakes. Needless to say, pushing a 20+lb baby in 20 mph headwinds was challenging. But, I managed to get in a 4 mile run at just under an 8:20 pace. It was not pretty as I was really tired and struggled in the wind, but I felt so much better after my run! I feel like I can think clearer and manage stress so much better.

So, Olivia and I spent the rest of the afternoon/evening baking delicious cookies for my office party and coworkers! I pretty much worked, ate cookie dough for dinner, and was exhausted from being up since 5:30, but it was a good day after taking some time for myself to exercise….

Now, if I could just make it past my post-Christmas office lunch food coma and survive enjoy the evening with the in-laws, life will be good!

Leave a Reply

