a great weekend..

The hubs and I had a great weekend…sure, Friday and Saturday night were spent enjoying dinner/the evening at home and catching up on old episodes of Mad Men (we are currently on Season Three and will one day catch up to the current show).  But, it was nice to just have some time to be at home after several busy weekends of travel, projects, time with family, etc.  I have finished my Christmas shopping/wrapping and have some baking to do this week. But, it is great to be ahead of the holiday rush (for once) and enjoy the true spirit of the Christmas season.

I woke up Saturday morning, spent some time with the little one, and headed out to the lakes at LSU to get in my long run.  I ran 6.5 miles in 51:45/7:57 average pace.  So, I was just under/around the 8 minute mark and felt really great, despite it being pretty cold and windy.  I have a 10k scheduled early February so I’m hoping to do some tempo runs and aim for a 7:30 to 7:45 pace…we’ll see how it goes.

On Sunday, the little one slept in until 7:30! So, I enjoyed sleeping in a bit, a beautiful Christmas service at church, and brunch at La Madeleine with my sweet family.  After a wonderful afternoon, nap, I went out for a 2.5 mile run and finally hit the 20+ miles/week mark.  I have not run that many miles per week since I started my buildup for my marathon training.  I know to some runners this is not much. But, I’m hoping to build and keep my weekly mileage up for 2011.  So, this is a great start!

Here is what my weekly mileage looked like:

  • Monday: 4 miles
  • Tuesday: off/hot yoga
  • Wednesday: 4 miles
  • Thursday: off
  • Friday: 4 miles
  • Saturday: 6.5 miles
  • Sunday: 2.5 miles

Anyway, like I said…it was a perfect weekend….time with my family, time to go to church to reflect and be thankful, and of course, time to run! Yes, it is the simple things in life that make me happy! I know in our culture there is pressure to always accomplish and get things done but I truly try to take Sunday as a day to rest and reflect.  To spend time with family, go to church, relax, and spend time doing things you enjoy.  I think taking this time  to relax, reflect, and recuperate is so good for your soul! I never manage to get pics of myself, but here are some cute ones of my family enjoying some football on Sunday afternoon!

   IMG_0372   IMG_0375  IMG_0377  IMG_0379 IMG_0380 IMG_0381  IMG_0383  IMG_0385

Leave a Reply

