2010 in review…

I was a bit groggy this morning after the new year’s eve festivities but decided to start the new year’s off right with a run.  I had planned to get in a longer run today, but was feeling a bit sluggish this morning so decided to go for a short three miler.

Workout: 3 miles/23:19/7:46 minute/mile.

So, I was looking through my posts for 2010.  I’m not going to make any resolutions for this year but just want to stay running, do some races for fun, keep up with yoga and be the best wife, mom, sister, daughter, and friend I can be.  I was looking through 2010 and there were a lot of changes for me this year as a mom and runner: adjusting to life with a newborn, dealing with injuries/running setbacks, starting back to work part-time after having my daughter and learning to juggle it all! 2010 was not a great year running wise, but I learned a lot in the process.

Here is my 2010 recap:

January:

Started back running consistently.  Olivia started sleeping through the night so this helped me get back into running shape:

February:

Started to introduce some speedwork after building my base mileage. Ran my first post-baby 5k in 22:27.

March:

Ran my second 5k in 21:11.  I was happy with this time, especially since I spent the week before the race up all night with a teething baby who decided that 5:30 am was a good time to start her day!

April/May:

April and May were a blur with a busy baby but started introducing Yoga into my routine.

June:

Injured….Plantar fasciitis.

July – October

A blur, injured so running was out…every time I tried to build back my mileage, my body rebelled and my foot would kill me the next day.  Simple tasks and walking became very painful.  Started yoga to get some exercise/stress relief and help me get over this injury.

October:

Started the Couch to 5k training plan and GRADUALLY started walking/running 3 to 4 times per week.

November:

Completed my first 2.5 mile run and was able to walk on  my foot the next day.  Decided I could finally start running again. Ran 5o miles this month!

December:

Continued to build mileage and my foot managed the increase in mileage well.  Ran 83 miles this month and ready to start speed work/racing in 2011!!

This was a challenging year for me but I learned a lot about letting go.  It was very frustrating to let go of my running in order to let my foot heal, but I learned that I need to listen to my body when I feel pain.  Plus, it enabled me to start practicing yoga which has been so helpful for my strength, flexibility, and injury prevention.  I’m hoping that 2011 is a great year for training and racing!

Leave a Reply

