a rainy start…

So, I set my alarm to go off this morning at 5:30 for my run but about 4:19 I woke up to a huge rain/hail storm….thankfully, the little one slept through this.  So, when my alarm went off at 5:30 and I looked out my window to see the cold rain, I could not for the life of me convince myself to go out for a run in the rain.  So, I snuggled back in bed and fell back asleep until 7:00.  Thankfully, the little one wanted to sleep in too!

Here is the little one at breakfast.  She decided she did not want one, but two spoons with her cereal:

I am always so groggy in the morning when I wake up to a screaming baby anxious for her breakfast and milk.  So, I figured I could manage a five mile run with the jogging stroller since the rain had cleared up.  After a few pit-stops mid run to collect some books that were tossed aside as Olivia decided she did not want to look at her books on the run, I made it about 2.5 miles and felt great until we had a huge downpour and got soaked.  So, I only made three out of the five miles.  But, I’ll take what I can get. I’m off to Hot Yoga tonight and hope I can get my five mile run in either before or after work tommorow.

2 thoughts on “a rainy start…

  1. Amanda,

    Just to respond to your comment, I love Hot Yoga! I read that you are recovering from a hamstring injury. I was sidelined with plantar fasciitis last June and could not run for months and Yoga kept me sane. Believe, me, I know I have so much to be grateful but as my running friend used to say, a runner who can’t run is like a ticking time bomb waiting to go off. Now that is cooler, I find hot yoga helps you stretch/getting into the poses more easily. I try to go once/week and and think it has really helped me get over this injury! Plus, after a long day with my toddler, I love the physical/spiritual part of it. The 5/10 minutes of meditation at the end of class does wonders for your mental clarity/sanity! You should definitely try it!!

    Good luck with your marathon training and look forward to reading your blog!

  2. Thanks for your comment! So happy to find your blog too. I’ve never done Hot Yoga…do you love it? I’d like to try it. Um, yeah, I am always happy to fit in a run with the jogger without the rain. It has turned into more of a chore these days with my 3 and 1 year old…my 3 year old doesn’t like to be cold so she always whines about it. 😦 oh well. 😉 Hope you get your miles in today before yoga!

Leave a Reply

