keeping things in perspective

Workout: 6 miles/48:12/8:01 pace – The first mile was 8:14 (I needed to warm up running first thing in the morning) but I did not look at my Garmin this morning just focused on my natural pace and by doing so I  managed to run just under 8:00 minute/mile the rest of my run:) Speedwork will begin in February so I am looking forward to picking up the pace a bit.

Alright, so I was browsing on facebook the other day when I read a post from one of my former college teammates…”city loop in 80 minutes.” After discovering that city loop was 12.5 miles which meant he was running a sub 6:30 pace, I all of a suddent started to feel very slow and question why I am putting so much effort to get back into running knowing that I may never be the runner I was in college due to the fact that my life is so much different now.  Granted this guy is single with a fairly easy job so he does not have any other distractions so to speak that keep him from running. But it made me a bit nostalgic for my days when I was running in college.

Running in college was so simple.  I had to focus on studying for my classes but other than that, I had free time to run, nap when I wanted to, sleep in on Sundays and had so much more free time to put into my training.  Now, several years down the road, my life is dramatically different. But also, more full and balanced.  I am a mom, wife, employee, etc.

As much as I want to focus on my goals (running a sub 1:40 half, a sub 45 10k and a sub 3:40 marathon), I also want to relax and enjoy the ride along the way and not be so focused on my goals that I lose sight of the simple joys that I have in my life.   I love the thrill of meeting a new pr, seeking new challenges, and getting faster but I also want to enjoy the journey along the way, the luxury of being able to have time out for a nice run, to spend time at home with my daughter, to laugh and play in our music class.  Because, in ten/fifteen years or so, I won’t have a sweet little toddler who wants to cuddle, read, and play all day.  She will be a teenager with a mind and life of her own.

My mom bought me a book that loved by Anthony de Mello called The Way to Love and he mentions a parable that sums this up beautifully:

“And here is a parable of life for you to ponder on.  A group of tourists sits in a bus that is passing through gorgeously beautiful country; lakes and mountains and green fields and rivers. But the shades of the bus are pulled down.  They do not have the slightest idea of what lies beyond the windows of the bus.  And all the time of their journey is spent squabbling over who will have the seat of honor in the bus, who will be applauded , who will be well considered. And so they remain till the journey’s end.”

So, while I want to focus on my goals I need to remember to also not lose sight of the beauty that surrounds me through my simple, every day tasks.  Here is a picture of my sweet girl eating her new favorite snack, mini vanilla wafers.  I know I post way too many pictures of her but honestly I feel silly taking pictures of myself and never seem to remember to get my camera out to take photos of my day!

2 thoughts on “keeping things in perspective

  1. Okay, so I’m officially saving your wonderful blog for later when I can give it some time. I’m excited because it looks like some good stuff…and some good food for my mind. Your running sounds like it is going great! And what a precious family. I’ll be back with more today. Happy Friday!

    • thanks so much! I don’t get to post as much as I would like to but am working on keeping up with it more! I LOVE your blog and your writing too so thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

