a perfect long run

Workout: 9 miles/1:14 mins/8:13 average pace (8:21, 8:17, 8:21, 8:15, 8:24, 8:20, 7:56, 7:42, 8:24)

I woke up this morning not really wanting to rush out the door and head for a run.  But my husband has to work this weekend (Saturday and part of Sunday) and the weather was supposed to be rainy tomorrow so I got my running clothes on, had a quick cup of coffee and slice of toast and was out the door by 7:45. 

The weather was perfect! 50 degrees and sunny which meant I could run in a short sleeve shirt and shorts.  I don’t mind running in the cold but I love the freedom of not having to put on multiple layers for my run.  I ran a little over a mile and a half to park near my house which is also used for the cross country meets because it is one of the few places in the city that have hills! I love this park and have many memories of racing here.  I ran about three miles on the course and then hit the road again to finish the rest of my nine mile run.

3392411752_471b4172d0

I was feeling so great on my run that I decided at 6.5 miles to try and speed it up a bit. So, between mile 6.5 and 8 miles, I picked up the pace, and then ran my regular long pace for the last mile.  I felt great! I would have kept on running but the hubby needed to get ready and out the door for work. 

So, here is my weekly workout recap: 27 miles/week total

  • Monday: 4 miles
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: 6 miles + Baby Boot Camp/Stroller Fit Class
  • Thursday: 4 miles
  • Friday: 4 miles
  • Saturday: 9 miles

Sunday is my rest day so I am looking forward to my day of rest and relaxation. I have my first 10k scheduled for next Saturday. I have not run a race since March 2010 so this should be interested. I have no idea what my 10k race pace is so that will be more of a test run/race to see where my training pace is at so I can start building and doing some speed work.

And if you have some time, head over the Leslie’s blog at Mommy’s Going for a Run.  She will be completing her third marathon in three months and running for a great cause tomorrow so be sure to wish her good luck and check out her giveaway (ends Wednesday, February 2nd).

2 thoughts on “a perfect long run

  1. Hey you. Sorry I have not been on here in awhile. Looks like I have some beautiful blogs of yours to catch up on. Just the look of your blog makes me want to read…and makes me feel peaceful. Congrats on some good running. We have been remodeling so I have not been on here at all but wanted to answer your question about the chiro…YES! By all means, get an adjustment. Olympian runners fought to be able to have their chiros with them during competitions. I say everyone should get chiro care…especially if you are a runner.:) Not every chiro is as good for us as sports chiros but I think just being in alignment is essential to preventing injury.

    • thanks for the info! I am definitely going to have to look into getting an adjustment. He has wanting to focus more on sports injury/wellness, so I think it would be great to get some free adjustments 🙂

Leave a Reply

