pre-race jitters?

I was all set to wake up Wednesday morning for my six mile run. I went to bed with my throat bothering me and woke up at night and the next morning all achey, hot/cold, and just feeling run down in general. The temperature in South Louisiana dropped dramatically and we are experiencing some really cold weather for us southern folks. Normally, I don’t mind running with a cold but running in weather with temps in the low 20s and feeling sick did not seem like the best combo!

I missed my morning run on Wednesday and Thursday and since the forecast tonight and tommorow is 30 degree weather at the highest with rain/ice/sleet, I’m wondering if it will do more harm then good to try and squeeze a run outside in the cold rain. I’m thinking yes?!?

I really think it is time I finally join a gym or get a treadmill! It would just give me some more options/times for me to train! If any has any good recommendations for a treadmill, please let me know! But regardless, this leaves me with possibly 2-3 rest days before my first 10k race on Saturday. Yikes! I hate taking this much time off before a race, especially since it has been over a year since I raced…eek!

Since I have been just working on building up my mileage since starting to run again last November, I have no idea what pace to run this 10k.  Most of my runs have been in the 7:50 to 8:00+ range but I did do a four mile run on Monday where my splits were 7:55, 7:52, 7:47, and 7:35 (all at 5:30 am in the morning). So, I think it is safe to say that I can aim for a 7:45 pace which puts me at about a 48+ 10k. 

So, I’m hoping just to go out there, stay relaxed, enjoy the race, get some miles in (and perhaps snag a few mardi gras beads along the run). At times, I feel like a total head case becuase it seems the more pressure I put on myself to set a pr…the more likely I am to get nervous, go out to fast, and crash and burn! I want to run this race to get a feel for what it is like to race and 10k and aim for that sub 45 10k in April.

  Stephanie

Leave a Reply

