10k race report

Well, I finished my first race today in almost a year! I was so nervous about getting out there to race but I really think that getting this first 10k race under my belt has built my confidence and will give me a guide for my training for my spring races in March and April.

I checked the official results and ran 44:14 (7:08).  I was the eight female overall and second in my age group.  After a week of feeling sick and little training, I was really happy with my race results.  I woke of feeling a little under the weather but still wanted to race. After I did my warm-up, I felt pretty good so I knew I could have a decent race despite my cold.

The race started out at 8:30 with the temperatures measuring at a chilly 29 degrees. But, luckily it was sunny with very little wind so the race conditions were not bad at all once you started moving. Going into the race, I was not sure what I was going to be able to run today, so I thought I would try and run the first two miles at a 7:45 pace and then try and pick it up and run negative splits for the remaining 4.2 miles.

Well, the gun with off and I felt really great being out there running with a group on a beautiful Saturday morning. I crossed the first mile in 7:03 and felt great! For some reason, last year when I raced a 7:00 pace felt so much faster but I felt really comfortable.  I tried to settle into my pace for the second mile and clocked 7:12.  I still felt really strong so thought I could try and maintain this pace and focus on running strong, even splits.

My third mile was in 7:14 and I was starting to feel a little fatigued but still felt really good.  I had some water somewhere between mile three and four and once I crossed the 5k mark, I knew I was halfway there and just focused on running my own pace and finishing strong.

Here are my my mile splits:

  • Mile 1 – 7:03
  • Mile 2 – 7:12
  • Mile 3 – 7:14
  • Mile 4 – 7:07
  • Mile 5 – 7:13
  • Mile 6 – 7:05

I felt great toward the end of the race and looking back, I think I could have pushed myself some more but I have not run a 10k in over 10 years and wanted to get a feel for the race and how to pace it.  I definitely think that after running in the low 44’s that if I put in some hard effort and speed, I can aim to try and run a sub 43 10k.

Sorry for the lack of pictures but I did not feel like hauling my iPhone or camera around while I raced.  But, check out Brandon’s blog at Claim Your Journey for some pictures and race footage.

Alright, off to relax and enjoy the rest of this beautiful weekend!!

2 thoughts on “10k race report

  1. Pingback: 2011: a recap « running on faith

  2. Wow!! Your time is awesome! You rocked this!

Leave a Reply

