speed workout?!?

So, this morning, I attempted to do my first speed workout.  Ideally, I would love to do this workout on a track but the idea of trying to haul my toddler off and get her to stay in her stroller or play while I do a track workout is almost humorous….the girl does not know how to sit still! I love her curious nature but definately have to keep my eyes on her all the time!

So, I did my workout in the neighborhood.  It was a bit more challenging to settle into my pace running on the sidewalk (half of which was in the dark) but I felt pretty good about accomplishing this workout.  I love that I can program my garmin to lap my warmup, speed interval, recovery time and cooldown! Next time I need to try and figure out how to determine what pace I am at or to set a target pace because I had no clue what my pace was on my recovery or interval so I just ran by feel.

Here are my 400s:

  1. 1:45
  2. 1:40
  3. 1:41
  4. 1:38
  5. 1:42
  6. 1:38

I ran a mile warmup and a mile cooldown for a total of 5.4 miles in 43:37 (7:36 pace).  I noticed that my recovery portion of the workout was right around 8:30 pace or so, so I think it would help if I did a little better about slowing down my recovery so that my intervals could be quicker.  But the goal was to run these at 5k pace, not at an all out sprint.  So, I ended up being somewhere between 6:35 and 7:00 pace/mile on the intervals.  Ideally, I would like to be closer to the 6:30 range but this was the first time to try this workout, so I feel pretty good about it!

My left shin/leg has been sore since last week so tommorow I am going to take a rest day or bike and get ready for my mile repeats on Friday…yay!

 

Leave a Reply

