P90x…yikes!

Okay, so like I mentioned in a previous post, my husband ordered P90x and I attempted my first workout last night….all I can say is wow, this is going to be tough. Apparently running and my weekly hot yoga sessions have kept me in fairly good cardio shape but I am a total wuss when it comes to weights and I have no strength whatsoever…which is exactly why I think I need to be doing some weights.  Hopefully, by the end of all of this I will be able to do at least one measly pull-up?!?

So, according to the guide, I am doing a modified version of the “lean” schedule.  I want to run four to five days per week so I think I will skip out on the cardio/kenpo/core synergistic and for the first phase do the leg/back routine, arms/shoulder routine, and attend my weekly hot yoga class.  So, that is about 3 days/week of yoga/strength and 4-5 days per week of cardio.  We’ll see how I can keep up this schedule!

But for now, I got a lovely four mile run in this morning.  I was out the door by 5:45 and loving the cooler weather we are having here in South Louisiana!  Unfortunately, my toddler must have decided she wanted to get up and join the party too because she has been waking up just before or after 6:00.  Apparently, she thinks sleep is overrated because she is not wanting to nap much more than an hour during the day.  Ahh…I dream that my second child will take lovely 2-3 hours naps like my nephews did when they were toddlers.  But until then, I’ll just roll with it and do the best I can!

So, all the runners out there…do you try to fit in strength during the week along with your weekly mileage? I don’t want to be a muscle machine but after realizing how week I am, I need to do some weights/focus on strength. Otherwise, I am going to be a really weak old lady!!

2 thoughts on “P90x…yikes!

  1. I did a few of the P90X workouts about a year ago with friends. They were intense! I have been doing the New Rules of Lifting for Women plan that I have been enjoying, usually 2-3 times per week. I definitely agree that it’s good to strength train along with running. Can’t wait to hear more!

  2. P90X ain’t no joke. Brent and I got it last year, and like you, I did the P90X Lean. It is SO hard. We did it to the letter IN ADDITION to running four times per week. I literally was working out all the time. Don’t get me wrong, I was in great shape, but that is a really hard schedule to keep. Right now, with my running/cycling/swimming schedule, I’m able to get in strength training on two days a week…MAX. I have a set of 8lb hand weights that I keep in my office and sometimes in my office on my lunch break, I’ll knock a few sets out. It’s hard working strength training in…especially with cardio, kids, etc. but it really does help and the added muscle burns SO many calories! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

