I like Texas…

My husband is from a small town in East Texas, located in between Shreveport and Dallas.  His mom has retired on a lake house and it offers the perfect getaway to relax and spend some time away. Lately, I have been feeling like there are not enough hours in the day to get done all the things I want (and need) to do so when I started to feel a little frazzled over my to do list, I knew a weekend trip away to visit his family in Texas would offer some time to relax.

The first night was a little rough as my toddler seems to take a little time adapting to her pack n’ play. She was up all night and since we were all in a little house, we tried our best to keep her asleep and quiet.  This meant having a very squirmy toddler in the bed who would wake up every 30 minutes to an hour to change positions, fuss, or talk!

When I woke up Saturday morning I was exhausted and seriously doubting my ability to get a run in.  But, I decided to lace up my shoes and go for it and ended up having an awesome four mile run.! I even hit a couple of miles in the sub 8 minute mile pace which I have not done since my injury, so it felt great to get some quicker miles in, despite the East Texas hills and lack of sleep!

We spent the rest of the day enjoying the beautiful weather, visiting with family, relaxing, napping, fishing with the kiddos, cooking, and enjoying some delicious food! Thankfully, my toddler slept all night the second night because I was super relaxed and thankful to have a full night’s rest before we had to make the trip home to get ready for another week and reality!

Here are some pictures of cousins from the weekend:

IMG_1043     IMG_1039   

IMG_1032

It was great to end the week with some downtime.  I had a great running week and was able to get one P90x workout in! I am thinking 1-2 workouts per week max will be enough for me as I am still pretty new to weightlifting and don’t have a ton of time to run, lift weights, and do yoga! So, my weekly recap:

  • Monday: 4 miles (33:20/8:20 average mile)
  • Tuesday: P90x legs/back + abs
  • Wednesday: 4 miles (33:33/8:30 average mile) + Hot Yoga
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 6 miles (49:22/8:13 average mile)
  • Saturday: 4 miles (31:49/7:49 average mile)
  • Sunday: rest

Total: 18 miles.

I may take this week as a recovery week and then add another day of running to the mix so that I can build my mileage up during the heat of the summer!

Leave a Reply

