weekend recap…

I think I am still in vacation mode because I have not run since Saturday and have been absent from all forms of social networking! My sister came in town on Friday and we had a wonderful shower to celebrate the upcoming arrival of my new niece in July.  So, my Memorial Day weekend was spent at a fun shower Saturday evening, pancake breakfast with the family on Sunday, a girls night to go see Bridesmaids on Sunday night, shopping with the girls on Monday, and lots visiting with family! Needless to say I missed my run Monday morning and when my alarm went off at 5:30 am to go for my morning run, I promptly hit snooze and decided that I will just run this evening.  I was tired from the busy,  but fun weekend. I think after the weekend, I just needed some extra rest!

By the way, Bridesmaids was hilarious! Okay, so some might not appreciate some of the humor (think Hangover but the girl version) but overall, Kristin Wig is hilarious! I was laughing so hard the entire movie.  My mom was a little offended by some of the jokes but it was still a fun movie! I’m not a huge fan of chick flicks but definitely check it out if you need a good laugh!!

But, I had a great running week last week and have finally neared the 20 mile/week mark.  I am almost back up to my pre-injury mileage!

  • Monday: 4 miles + Hot Yoga
  • Tuesday: rest
  • Wednesday: 4 miles
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 4 miles
  • Saturday : 7.68 miles

Next week, my husband and I are going on a four day cruise to Cozumel so I’m looking forward to a long weekend of sun and relaxation on the ship  before I start my half-marathon training.  I have not officially signed up for the Jazz Half Marathon  but plan on running the Jazz Half in October and the Louisiana Half Marathon in January.  I plan on using the training schedule from Matt Fitzgerald’s book, Brain Training for Runners. I like the Level 2 plan which calls for running five days and week and plan on doing lots of Yoga to build more core strength and stay injury free!

but with the temps rising…training during the summer heat will be a challenge…is it October yet?

Leave a Reply

