ready for vacation!!

Well, I am so thankful my husband and I have scheduled our summer vacation this week because after a busy weekend, I am ready for a couple of days to relax, rest, and enjoy some down time!

I finally got my mileage up to 20 miles/week, which I have not run since my my injury in February. I am ready to build up my mileage this summer so long as I can stay cool in this summer heat!

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: 5 miles
  • Wednesday: Hot Yoga
  • Thursday: 5 miles
  • Friday: rest
  • Saturday: 6.5 miles
  • Sunday: 3.5 miles

I ran with Varsity Sports on Saturday morning and since I have been running either before 7:00 am or after 7:00 pm, by the time we finished our run at 9:00 am I was super tired from the added heat/humidity.  I ran home, took a quick shower, changed, ate breakfast and took my toddler to the splash park which she loved.  My husband was doing home improvement projects all weekend, so I was watching little Miss all day and by the afternoon, I was pretty pooped! Little kids have so many energy and lately with her short naps and 6:00 am wake up calls, I was pretty tired. I was dreading my run Sunday afternoon but after I finished I was glad that I was able to get in a quick 3.5 miles to finish up my mileage for the week.

This Thursday, my husband and I leave for a long weekend cruise to Cozumel!!! Little Miss will be staying with her grandparents while we are gone and I am super excited about having time to relax, run, sleep in, and enjoy some food that I don’t have to prepare! In her short 21 months of life, I have not been away from my little one for over twenty four hours so I am a little nervous about being so far away but I know she will be in good hands while we are gone!

So, I am looking forward to some time away and hoping to come back well rested and ready for some summer training! Now, I just need to start researching and experimenting with hydration, electrolyte replacement, nutrition, etc. There are so many options to look into: Cytomax, salt tablets, GU/gels, shock blocks, sports beans….

What type of products do you prefer for hydration and electrolyte replacement? I could never stomach GU and have used shock blocks but they really bothered my stomach when I took them during my marathon so I am may look into salt tables, cytomax, or nuun. 

3 thoughts on “ready for vacation!!

  1. how do you like the Hot yoga? I think I might look into this…1. I need the flexibility and 2. i’ve heard the sauna is great for runners and it’s like a sauna isn’t it? lol

  2. Great job on getting your mileage up to 20 miles/week! That is fantastic and I know that you are proud of yourself. I’m desperately trying to get my mileage back up that high, but with trying to work in bike rides, swims, strength training, etc. (oh, and you know, LIFE) I seem to run out of time. Excuses aside, I just need to DO IT.

    Look at you gettin’ in a little summer vacay with the hubs! Good for you! I’m so jealous! Brent and I could definitely use one right now, but right now we are saving money for the babeh! Maybe next year? 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all about your trip!

    • Thanks! I am so excited for some time away! Will take lots of pics to share! We found a great travel deal so we are so thankful to have a little mini-vacay!

      I know you have not gotten into the 20 mpw running range but you are doing so awesome with your swimming, running, and biking!! Keep it up and you are going to do so awesome in your tri!

Leave a Reply

