My love/hate relationship with the BOB!

unnamed

When I was pregnant, I researched and inquired about the best jogging strollers on the market. I knew running was going to continue to be part of my lifestyle after I had little Miss, so after consulting friends, running blogs, and some research, I chose the BOB Revolution Single Stroller. It was a little pricey but I added it to my registry thinking, why not? I could always exchange diapers at Babies R’ US to apply towards my credit and the purchase of my stroller, right? Ha!

But, thankfully, my husband’s family pooled their resources to buy me the stroller.  I really did not think I was going to be able to afford it so when I opened the present, I just cried I was so happy. To me, it was the confirmation that yes, I will be able to fit in my runs along with the  responsibilities of raising my child!

Now, I love my BOB but after some initial runs with it, my love affair with this marvelous invention changed. Why? Because pushing the jogging stroller is super hard!! Eeek, I knew I was always a little weak in the upper body but you really get a workout pushing a baby around! Plus, you add any hills to your routine and it becomes quite a challenging workout. Added to the physical challenges of pushing the stroller, my toddler is not the best rider ever. About half the time she fights even getting into the stroller and he gets squirmy after a couple of miles. She then proceeds to drop her shoes, toys, sippy cup and finally tries to wriggle her way out of the straps and stroller!

After using the BOB on a regular basis, I put it aside and opted to wake up in the wee hours of the morning to fit in my runs before her 6:15 to 6:30 wake-up time. If I am up and out the door by 5:45 or so, I can get in a quick 4 to 5 miles in before she is up. I love having this time by myself early in the morning to run. The morning is quiet and I come back, enjoy a quiet cup of coffee to myself, and sometimes have time to read some blogs before my busy day begins!

But sometimes, things come up and  and I don’t quite make it out the door before her wakeup call.  I ran a quick four miles last night, overslept, and my husband had to head out to work early and will most likely be working very late tonight to finish up all his work before we start our vacay.  Yay!

So, I decided to dust the BOB off again and take it for a spin.  It was hotter than I am used to but surprisingly, my run was less than 20 seconds slower than last night’s solo run. I checked my Garmin stats and my totals were 4 miles/32:30/8:07 average pace.  I even managed to run the third mile in under an 8 minute pace.  I felt pretty good about this given the record heat we have been having here in the South!

So, yes, at times, I do find running with the BOB challenging.  But then again, I feel so very grateful to have this other outlet for me to take time to squeeze in a run in my busy schedule. And yes, it was a bit harder, but I think that just will make me a stronger, better runner and mama 🙂

2 thoughts on “My love/hate relationship with the BOB!

  1. I too wake up at the crack of dawn to run solo. I used to run with my youngest in a baby jogger, but it made my lower back ache, so I only used it for walks.
    Now that the boys are all off to school, it feels like such a luxury to run when the sun is actually shining!

    • Yes, it will be nice when the kiddos go to school and I can run later! Until then, I’ll enjoy my jogging stroller and early morning runs. Just thankful I can still have time to run!

Leave a Reply

