Happy Father’s Day!

I actually started celebrating father’s day early this week because my father went to Nashville this weekend to see my sister, nephew, and brother in law who are expecting their second child in a couple of weeks.  I wanted to take my dad out for a special dinner to thank him for all that he has done for me. I get my athletic abilities from my mom’s side of the family. She had four brothers and they were all tall, lean, and great track athletes. But, I am thankful for my dad because he has taught me, by example, about dedication and perseverance in running and in the way he lives his life.  His parents weren’t able to help him as much as they wanted to with school and  so anything he has ever wanted, he had to work for including paying for college, graduation school, clothes, his car, etc. He is the hardest worker I know and I truly admire his dedication.

My dad started running when my older sister was born and he has been running ever since. He has never been a fast runner but at 60+ years he still gets up every Saturday morning to meet his friends for a long loop around the LSU lakes and gets in his swim, weight, and running workouts during the week. I admire his dedication to a healthy lifestyle, all the while balancing the demands of owing his own business/practice. He has always provided for me and my mom and siblings and am truly grateful for all the sacrifices he made for us.  So thank you dad and Happy Father’s Day to you!

Some of my favorite pics of my dad:

Today, little miss and I celebrated Father’s Day with our own little family. So, I was able to have a day just to our family to celebrate the special man in my life, my wonderful husband! In the short 21 months of our daughter’s life, I admire how hard he works to provide for us so that we can have a secure lifestyle. I know for my husband, this involves a demanding job, long hours, and crazy busy seasons. But, during the times when he is not busy at work, I am so thankful for what a good father he is to our sweet daughter. My husband lost his own father at a very young age.  And to see him spend time with our little girl and the sweet bond that they share just makes me smile. She truly loves spending time with her dadda and I am so grateful to have a husband who is such a wonderful dad to my daughter!

Some pictures of little miss and her dad:

IMG_1615

Olivia Kate Crews - Week One 033

IMG_0281

051

Leave a Reply

