Seven Years…

Our Wedding Day

My husband and I celebrate our seven-year anniversary tomorrow. I usually have a hard time sitting down to blog on the weekends so I thought I would do a post about it today.  It really is hard for me to believe that we have been married seven years. I look back and feel like I was such a baby when we got married. I have grown so much as an individual over the past couple of years but am so thankful for my husband who has been my best friend, rock, support, and someone I can always count on and be myself with.  Thank you hubby for a wonderful seven years.  I was thinking back on all the things we have done since our anniversary. Just a few highlights came to mind:

  • Graduated with our master’s degree and started our first real professional jobs in Dallas, Texas. This involved frequent travel on both our parts but we got lots of frequent flyer miles and hotel points along with some great work experience (which I am really using as I stay at home with my toddler and manage the household!). Traveled to California, Massachusetts, Texas, Ohio, Iowa, Nebraska, Tennessee, just to name a few.
  • Celebrated our first year anniversary in Napa, California  which was free trip after all the points we racked up from traveling!
  • Bought our first house and shared the joys of updating a “fixer” upper.
  • Ran my first half and full marathon.
  • Moved back to Louisiana to be closer to family
  • Celebrated the birth of our first child.

Mardi Gras/Birthday Celebrations

Our Family

We have been through many job changes, location changes, and emotional changes. We have hit that seven year mark where you truly know your spouse and things are not always as rosy as life was when you were a newlywed, but you learn what it means to truly love and give of yourself.  As my teacher always said, “Love is not a feeling but an act of the will.”  Despite the many challenges (and arguments we have battled), I feel blessed to have my husband by my side. Where I get frazzled and easily stressed out by the fluctuations in life, he always remains cool and calm and keeps life in perspective for me.

On another note, I started today off with a nice four mile run with a couple of sprints mixed in (2X30 second pickups to be exact). I have not raced since April and so I am feeling the lack of speed as the pickups (and humidity were killing me) but I did manage to finish with three of the four miles under 8:00 minute pace (7:55, 7:46, 7:54), which I felt pretty good about.  My mileage is still fairly low but I am taking this time to continue to get adjusted to the heat/humidity as I build up my mileage.

My toddler is sick today with a nasty cold and fever so my previous plans of attending the Lululemon Grand Opening today were dismissed and instead we have been enjoying a quiet day at home. She has been resting and I have been getting some much-needed cleaning done. Sometimes, it is nice to have an excuse to stay home all day in your comfy clothes and just have some time for cleaning, resting, and reading.  Yes, I actually do like to clean but finding time to do it is the challenge! Sometimes life just feels so busy and planned that  I treasure having this downtime.

Happy Friday everyone and enjoy your weekend!

3 thoughts on “Seven Years…

  1. Pingback: June Recap « running on faith

  2. Happy Anniversary! I hope you both enjoy your special day together!!

Leave a Reply

