Life and Plans

“The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men. Gang aft agley, An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain, For promis’d joy!” – Robert Burns

I have always considered myself an organized person. I like schedules, routines, to-do lists, and a plan.  As a new parent; however, I am learning that sometimes kids (or life) can throw you a curve ball. Earlier this month, I sat down to plan my training for some races in the fall.  I love having a schedule to follow and to be able to cross a completed workout off of my training plan. Yes, I’m not very good at winging it!

This all changed last Thursday when I took my toddler to the doctor. She was not eating and developed high fever and fever blisters. This resulted in a miserable toddler who was up all hours in the night because she was in pain and unable to eat. It hurts my heart to see her suffering and yet I can’t explain that things will get better. To date, she has been a healthy child and my heart goes out to parents with children who are sick or battle with major illnesses.

So training this week has been sporadic.  I ran five miles on Tuesday and I did a 4.5 mile tempo run with four pickups this morning after a glorius full night’s rest! I am hoping to makeup some mileage this weekend but also realize that life will go on even if I have to miss a training run or don’t quite make my goal mileage for the week. I still will be able to stay in shape and accomplish my running goals. More importantly, I hope that my children and family will remember that when they were sick or needed me, I was there to provide comfort and support.

4 thoughts on “Life and Plans

  1. Pingback: June Recap « running on faith

  2. hope your kiddo is all better now. 😦 scary when our kids get sick. 😦 I’m such a winger when it comes to races usually but I’m in the middle of the road when it comes to organization/plan and being spontaneous. 🙂

  3. Ahh I need to borrow some of your “organization and plans”! I’m a bit more of a winging girl (understatement). Training would be so much easier if I had more of a routine.

    I hope your little one is feeling better! She will always remember the times you cared for her – at least, I still remember all the times my mom nursed me back to health.

    • Thanks! Sometimes being too planned is a bad thing. I do have some good running/training books if you need some guidance!

      But yes, happy to have a healthy toddler and thankful to get some rest for my runs and workouts.

Leave a Reply

