Modeling Good Behavior

I had a great week of workouts last week which included some hill repeats, a fartlek, and long run with pickups. Monday is my rest day and I usually wake up Tuesday morning ready for a run. Yesterday, I started out my run and felt a familiar pain in my left shin, a pain which earlier this year I tried to ignore and run through.  This only made it worse and I had to take a whole month off from running.  I learned the hard way that when it comes to training, ignoring pain is never a good idea.

After my run, I was feeling a little bummed about the prospect of battling another round of shin splints/tendinitis. Often times when I have a bad day of running, I tend to overreact just a little:)  Yes, I am a female and at times, I am not the most rational person! So of course, I began to question what I am doing all this for. Why do I wake up at the crack of down get some miles in before my family wakes up? Why do I feel the need to attend late night yoga sessions to strengthen and stretch when there are days after working or keeping my daughter where all I want to do is sit on the couch, watch some mindless tv, and eat popcorn in my pajamas? I was tired from last week, concerned about reinjuring myself, and feeling defeated before I started the heart of my training.

I wallowed a bit, considered blowing off my whole training plan, and then decided to take action by icing, resting, and stretching my leg. After a better run this morning, I decided to invest in a foam roller.  This is something that I have been meaning to buy, but never got around to it. After running errands, I came home and decided to try out the DVD as to see if I could catch a quick segment on how to use it. Normally, trying to do any exercises with my daughter is a joke because she always wants to join in. I usually end up laughing at her cute attempts to stretch or try to imitate my exercises!  Today, I caught her trying to figure out the foam roller.

IMG_1229 IMG_1228

Which made me realize that while I have always tried to live a healthy, active lifestyle to take care of myself, it impacts my daughter more than I realize. As she continues to grow and learn, she will look to me as an example. At times, I question how much I actually contribute to society as a part-time employee/stay at home mom.  But I realize that perhaps setting a positive example for the next generation is contributing to a better society.  And if she learns through my example of how to endure through tough times, to have a positive attitude, to set goals, to dream big, and to believe in herself, then I consider that a job well done!

2 thoughts on “Modeling Good Behavior

  1. Thank you for your post. I’ve been struggling this week with some not as good as I’d like runs and your post helped me put it all in perspective. One of my best reasons for running is my daughters. They both want to run because of watching me and for that I am grateful.

    Thanks for giving me this gift.

    • thanks karen! I was having a rough week this week too. Sometimes it is hard to keep it in perspective and when things don’t go as planned, I get a little frustrated. My daughter is not quite two but I hope to inspire her to be active as she gets older! Some days we have good days and some days we have bad ones but keep it up!

Leave a Reply

