a 5k in august..

I’m not sure what possessed me to sign up for a 5k race in the heat of August, but I guess if I am going to do a race with the college runners in September, I needed to practice and try out another 5k. The last one I ran was in April and I recall the weather being much more conducive to a great race! I knew when my husband and I were driving to the race and I saw a sign that said the temp was 96 degrees that this was going to be a tough 5k, given the heat + added humidity!

The race was an evening 5k, so I thought by the 7:00 start time that things might cool off but..well, maybe slightly cooler but I was already soaked after my 1.5 mile warm-up.

My splits:

  • Mile 1 – 6:38
  • Mile 2 – 7:02
  • Mile 3 – 6:54
  • Last .1 mile – 6:20

Total: 21:16

I finished fourth overall female and second in my age group! It was super hot and I swear never to race another 5k in August but the post-race party, beer, jambalaya, and swim in the pool made all the hard work worth it!

Despite having a rough week last week and not being able to run at all, I had a pretty good week this week:

  • Monday: 4 miles
  • Tuesday: 4 miles
  • Wednesday: 3.5 miles with 3X2 minute pickups at 3k pace + Hot Yoga
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 4 miles
  • Saturday: 3.1 race + 3 miles warm-up/cool down = 6.1 miles
  • Sunday: rest

Total: 21.5 miles

This is my last week of relatively low mileage as the next few weeks I will be slowly building up my long runs! While it is nice to get out for a race, I’m looking forward to long runs on the weekends and lots of easy, base building mileage!

One thought on “a 5k in august..

  1. Pingback: 2011: a recap « running on faith

Leave a Reply

