Week in Review….

  • Monday: 6 miles in 49:49 (8:18 pace)
  • Tuesday: 4 miles in 33:07 (8:16 pace)
  • Wednesday: 5 miles in 41:15 (8:15 pace) + Hot Yoga
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 3 miles in 23:58 (7:59 pace)
  • Saturday: 10 miles in 1:21 (8:10 pace)
  • Sunday: rest

Total: 28 miles

My 10 miler on Saturday was my first double digit long run since February! And I find it strange that my long run was faster than all of my mid-week training runs (except for Friday’s short three miler). Either I am a) running my long run too fast or b) running my mid-week runs too easy?!? I think I have a harder time during my mid-week runs because most of my runs start at about 5:40 or so in the morning. It takes me a couple of miles to just get warmed up and my legs still feel like they are asleep. I keep thinking about switching my runs to at night after my husband gets home but I feel like this is a bad idea because if he works late, I don’t get my run in, I am often too tired after chasing my toddler all day to run (I am much better in the morning!), or I risk eating too much food in the afternoon and feel too full to go for a run!

After my 10 miler on Saturday, I was seriously questioning my decision to train for a marathon. By 10 miles I was done. I stopped for water three times and despite starting at 6:00 am, the heat is brutal! I am just hoping that come time to do my 16-20 mile runs that the cooler weather/lower humidity will help!

So, the next two weekends are going to pose a challenge to get my long runs in:

9/3 – My husband and I are traveling to Dallas for the LSU/Oregon game

9/10 – Loyola 5k Cross Country Invitational

How do you fit your long runs in when you have race/travel plans? Do you do a long run mid-week? Do a shorter run on the road? Any tips would help. I will have to finish up my long run by 7:00 am or start it around 7:30 to 8:00 pm if I plan to do a long run mid-week so trying to figure out the best way to fit this in my schedule.

Leave a Reply

