is this just a bad case of pre-race jitters?!?

So, I’m not sure this is some sort of self-sabotage but I had the worst case of pre-race jitters/stomach  bug/aches yesterday.

I woke up at my usual time Wednesday morning to get my last tempo run before the Jazz Half Marathon this Saturday. I felt fine on the warmup but once I hit the tempo run and cooldown, I was just not feeling right. Here are my splits from my four mile tempo run.

  • 8:13
  • 7:06
  • 7:07
  • 7:47
I got home, started coffee and started to feel terrible.  I could not even get my coffee down I felt so nauseous.  Little miss was sick yesterday and lost all of her lunch  so I think I caught whatever stomach bug she got at school. I seem to catch everything she does!
One of the biggest challenges of being a being a stay-at-home mom is trying to take care of your toddler when you feel sick. I thought I was going to gag when I made her breakfast/lunch and was so achy and tired and all I wanted to do was lay on the couch and rest but little Miss wanted to be outside playing, riding her bike, etc. We sat outside where she could play in the backyard but the thought of walking and chasing her around the neighborhood as she rode her bike seemed like so much effort.
I made it out of the house for a quick trip to pick up my race packet and buy some saltines, chicken noodle soup, and Gatorade. I had to make a pit stop in the parking lot because I thought I was going to lose my saltine crackers on the ride back home.
Thankfully, my toddler took a glorious 3 hour nap yesterday afternoon (this is extremely rare as it is usually closer to the 1 – 1.5 hr range) and I was able to rest on the couch. The hubs came home a little early so he was able to do the feeding, bathing, reading, and bed time routine. I was so thankful because I was struggling to get off the couch.
I was in bed by 8:30 and slept until 6:30. I woke up today feeling like a whole new person. I’ve been hydrating like crazy trying to make up for the lack of nutrition and fluids I got in yesterday and am hoping this won’t affect my performance on Saturday.
But serioulsy, I can’t help but wonder if this is some sort of self sabotage. I always get sick before big races.  Perhaps your stress really does manifest itself in sickness or injuries. Either way, I’m thankful the whole ordeal is over.
Now to get ready and start packing for race day in NOLA:)
Leave a Reply

