a recap..

I can’t believe November is already here.  The holidays are around the corner and time seems to be passing too quickly. I was looking through some of my old blog posts and realized I have been running injury free for a year.  I started running six weeks after little miss was born but after a couple of months, developed and battled a terrible case of plantar fasciitis. I spent the entire last summer injured and it was not until last November (almost a year post-baby) that I was able to start running again. But since last November, I have set three new personal records for myself in the 5k, 10k, and half marathon. This excludes my college times. After all, I’m never aiming to beat those old times.

I’ve battled a lot of changes over the past couple of years. We moved back to our home state, had our first child, I left my job to stay home with our daughter. I am not very good about managing change. I hate moving and love routines. But, as I quickly learned staying home with my daughter, sometimes you have to let your routines and plans go. But, I’m so thankful to have time for myself to run as a constant to help me manage and deal with all the new changes and firsts in my life. I’m not sure what the next year of running will hold for me and our family but I’m sure it will be another great year with many new adventures.

My week recap:

  • Monday: 6 miles
  • Tuesday: 6 miles
  • Wednesday: Hot Yoga
  • Thursday: 6 miles
  • Friday: 4 miles (jogging stroller)
  • Saturday: 10 miles (5.59 warmup, 3 mile race, 1.5 mile cooldown)
  • Sunday: 4 miles

Total: 36 miles

So, I’m going to take another easy week to build my mileage and then figure out where I want to go next…a faster half? just run for fun? a pr in the 5k…we shall see.

2 thoughts on “a recap..

  1. What about a marathon?

    I do think that actually I shouldn’t even suggest that. one thing that drives me nuts is when people say, “Well I’ve run a 5K, and a 10K so next is the half and then a full Marathon and then an ultra” It isn’t always a progression of just distance. But still, I think you might actually excell at the Marathon distance, so why not think about it!

    • I’ve thought about the marathon and will run another one again but I’m not ready to commit to marathon training just yet. Too many things going on right now for me to make time out for the long runs. But next time I do, I want to aim for a BQ!

Leave a Reply

