a fun run..

Last Saturday, I ran a fun 5k race with my dad. It was an alumni race for my high school and since I raced my half marathon last weekend, I decided to go into a race to have fun and not worry about pace or times. I wanted to get some mileage in for the day since so I started out with just over a 5.5 mile warm up.

The race was not until 8:30 so I had plenty of time to get some miles in, hydrate, and fuel up before the race. The race was supposed to be a 5k but my Garmin clocked it a 2.97 miles.

Here are my splits:

  1. 7:15
  2. 7:07
  3. 6:24 (.97 miles).

Average: 6:59 pace

So, not my fastest race but it was nice to take a break from focusing on pace, splits, etc, and just run for fun. I finished up with a 1.5 mile cooldown, just over 10 miles for the day.

But the best part was that as the overall female winner, I got some awesome loot including $100 gift card to our local running store, a massage/spa package valued at $225, a $50 gift card to a local yoga studio and a Mignon Faget necklace!

It was like Christmas in November! As a stay at home mom, I always feel guilty forking out money for running shoes and I can’t tell you the last time I went to a spa. The package includes a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage and lunch. I can’t wait to have a morning to relax and unwind. After battling with my two year old, I spa break will be wonderful!

Yes, last week my toddler figured out how to get out of her crib. So, we converted her toddler bed. This has resulted in a huge resistance to going to bed or taking her nap. I have always heard horror stories about the terrible twos but I never thought my child would be so strong willed and stubborn! She is so sweet and loving but has a terrible temper which frequently results in terrible emotional outbursts. I am already anxious about the teenage years.

So, things have been a little stressed around our house trying to will our little one to sleep in her bed, get dressed, brush her teeth, etc.  I’m going to need to learn to take some deep breaths…and keep running….

4 thoughts on “a fun run..

  1. Pingback: 2011: a recap « running on faith

  2. thanks all! I was so excited…best race prizes ever! Definitely getting my spa day booked soon!

  3. COngratulations on the win!!!! How nice is that!!! I think a spa day is in order!!!!

  4. Awesome on the race swag! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

