what happened to my motivation?!?

For some reason, after every big race/event that I train for, the high of acheiving a new personal record is followed by a period of running apathy. Yes, I think I left my running motivation in New Orleans after I finished the Jazz Half marathon.

It is not that I don’t want to run. I love my easy runs in the morning. But, the idea of stepping back into speedwork and hard running just does not sound very appealing. I don’t train with a group, so the only person I am accountable for to stay on track for training is myself. And sometimes, I can easily convince myself to just run for fun or take yet another easy day.

A month or so ago, I signed up for two races:  the Baton Rouge Beach Half Marathon (12/10) and the Louisiana Half Marathon (1/15). The plan was to take a week off after the Jazz Half to do some easy running and then step into another training plan (either Hal’s advanced half marathon training or an Advanced Plan from Runner’s World) with the goal to run the race in December for fun/training and focus on the half marathon in January.

Except when I got out of bed this morning I could not for the life of me fathom doing a tempo run at sub 7/low 7 min pace. So, I just decided on an easy six mile run:

  1. 8:21
  2. 8:04
  3. 7:51
  4. 7:42
  5. 7:41
  6. 7:42
Total: 47:25
I did not realize that I sped up so much in this run. Perhaps I am getting a LITTLE faster and I’m not as apathetic as I feel but I just struggled through this run.
I hate to put negative energy out there but sometimes I need to put my thoughts on paper and vent.  I’m feeling like I need to change things up a bit. Try a group/social run, enter a trail race, add some more Pilates/Yoga classes into my routine, or do my speed work with a group…
So, tell me…with a sport as routine as running, how do you stay motivated to train and meet new goals?
6 thoughts on “what happened to my motivation?!?

  1. I agree with Rebecca, if I was pleased with a race, I feel sort of like I can sit on my laurels, if not..well, the urge to do something different kicks in… After my marathon in Feb, even though it was a disappointing performance, I admit, I really regretted signing up for a half in March. SOmetimes I think we put certain races too close together.

    • I’m feeling the same way. One month away seems to quick to do another half again. May just run the december race for fun and then focus on the january half to see if I can improve my time.

  2. Run to Dallas and leave 1/4 of your motivation with me! I could use it! Love YOU!!

  3. thanks rebecca! I think I’m going to run when I feel like this week and then I’ll be ready to jump into training next week. Every now and then I just need a break from the grind and then I realize how much I miss running and am ready to work hard again!

  4. This happens to me after a satisfying race performance. On the other hand, when I am disappointed with a race, I get the urge to start training hard again right away. Give yourself the rest of the week to do easy runs and start again on Monday. Plus, running sub 8’s on an easy run is nothing to be ashamed of!

Leave a Reply

