The Happiness Project

I know it is a bit early to start thinking about new year’s resolutions but I heard about this book on The Today Show a year or so ago and finally picked up a copy and feel inspired to make this part of my new year’s resolution.

Not that I don’t consider myself a happy person but often times I feel robbed of my joy as I get bogged down in the daily tasks of life that we all have to manage (work, taking care of the home, taking care of kids, etc.). This author of this book spends a month focusing on a element of happiness so that by the end of the year, you have completed all twelve tasks/attributes to contribute towards happiness and a feeling of well being. For example, January focuses on Energy, February focuses on Marriage, March focuses on Work, etc.

I’ve always been fairly good about staying active and healthy but tend to let those pesky task items slide which leaves me feeling overwhelmed my to do list (e.g., cleaning out those closets, organizing my file system, taking time to spend with friends and cultivate new ones, etc.).

So, each month I’ll focus on my efforts in each task.  If you are interested, check out the book, The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I figured I needed to jump start this year with some new goals and resolutions!

3 thoughts on “The Happiness Project

  1. I read this book a few years ago. For some reason it seemed really cliche. Rubin has a charmed life, so I felt annoyed that she needed to do this “project” to feel happy. I think the book was written before the recession, so maybe that’s why it doesn’t seem pertinent to me.
    Anyway, I do think it’s a good practice to be more mindful of your blessings, which isn’t always easy.
    Keep us posted on whether or not it helps.

  2. Good luck and please write many more posts about how it’s going. It sounds like it will be very interesting and fun!

  3. Great idea! I’ve been wanting to read this book and may have to add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

