Week 13 (1/16-1/22)

Well, tommorow, I start my second trimester. So, this was officially my last week in the first trimester. Hopefully, I will be feeling more energetic!

So, here is my weekly mileage:

Wednesday: 5 miles (8:22). Could not make myself get out of bed Monday and Tuesday so by Wednesday, I needed a run! Slept in once again and got in a run on the treadmill while my 2 year old napped. Usually by 1:30 or 2:00, I am ready to crash and burn but I felt pretty good on my afternoon run.

Thursday: 4 miles (8:22 pace) A little tired from just having run the afternoon before but got in four miles on the dreadmill.

Friday: 4 miles (8:24 pace)…ugh, lingering cold, toddler waking me up at 4:30 and my 5:15 alarm clock made for a difficult run.

Saturday: Decided to forgo my Saturday long run and enjoy the morning at home. Went for a run around the neighborhood at 5ish. 4 miles at 8:01 pace. I always run faster on the road.

Sunday: 9 miles (8:13 pace). The humidity has returned to South Louisiana and all I can say that was good about this run was I got my miles in. Had to make three stops for water/nuun and just felt ready to get this run over with the entire time. I know at some point my runs will slow down even more so I just stop for water when I need to and slow down the pace if I am feeling tired.

Total: 26 miles.

All in all, I still feel pretty good about getting 26 miles for the week at 12 weeks pregnant. I’m not sure how long I will be able to keep the 9-10 mile runs up but figured as long as I am feeling up to it, I’ll hold on to them as long as I can.

Pregnancy-wise, I am feeling pretty good. My food cravings have normalized and am eating my normal healthy foods (with the exception of my whole wheat bagel thins with cream cheese). Not the most filling breakfast but I can’t seem to give it up!

My toddler sleep routine has finally started to normalize. We tried giving up the nap but only found that she crashed and burned at 5:30 to 6:00 pm which meant for a very early morning. So, I think we will keep the naps for now and I can enjoy my mid-day break for just a LITTLE longer.

Overall, I am thankful for my health and for time to do something I love.  I’m thinking a family of four sounds perfect for us so given this could be my last pregnancy, I just want to enjoy every moment. Looking back on my first pregnancy, I ran very little during my first trimester and stopped running completely after that. I’m not sure how long I will be able to keep up my running but am thankful for feeling healthy and being able to stay active.

Anyway, I have an exciting trip to New Orleans this weekend. More news on the blog to come later….

2 thoughts on “Week 13 (1/16-1/22)

  1. Great week, especially after a half! I was able to run up through the week my daughter was born… only doing 2-3 miles by the end, but it was nice to still do a little bit of running. You’re certainly off to a great start!

  2. Don’t know how you do it! Those long runs must be tough, but you sound like you’re enjoying it! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

