An exciting weekend and Collegiate awards…

This Saturday, my family and I are making the trip down to New Orleans because I am being inducted into the Loyola Athletic Hall of Fame.

Here is the write-up on my collegiate career:

“A graduate of St. Joseph High School in Baton Rouge, Legleu was named to the GCAC All-Conference Team all four years of her career. While competing for Loyola, the Wolfpack placed second in the GCAC Championships, and qualified for the NAIA National Meet three times.  Legleu holds the school record for 5000 meters (established at the McNeese State Invitational with a time of 19:35), the 2 mile race (established at the LSU Invitational with a time of 12:22), and the 3 mile race (established at the Tulane Invitational with a time of 20:04). Also during her career, she placed in the following meets: West Florida Invitational, Loyola Invitational, Auburn Invitational, ULL Invitational, Rhodes College Invitational, and the Mississippi College Invitational. She led the 2001 Wolfpack to the GCAC and NAIA Region 13 women’s team titles. She was a NAIA All-Region selection in 2001.  As a track athlete, Legleu holds Loyola records in the 1500m, 3000m, and 5000m. She was named Academic All American during her senior year.”

When I read this, I feel like such a running rock star! I’m so grateful for my collegiate experience and that I was able to experience the life of a student athlete where I could compete and participate in a sport but also focus on my grades.  I knew I would never have a professional career in running so I had to focus also focus grades, graduate school acceptance, etc while competing in cross country and track.  I am definitely grateful for having this opportunity to be a balanced student  athlete.

I loved my experience at Loyola, my teammates, my studies, and everything about living in New Orleans. I feel extremely honored to be included in the Hall of Fame and be included among so many talented athletes.

Since my birthday is next week (Tuesday!) I’m looking forward to birthday dinner celebration/date night with my husband, a group run Saturday morning, and the award ceremony in New Orleans Saturday evening. It is going to be a busy, but wonderful weekend.

Here are some old team pictures. I will post some more pictures next week from the award ceremony Saturday evening.

299706_646580904725_20402192_34236763_1574617862_n 293112_646581234065_20402192_34236765_664712147_n 297656_646581822885_20402192_34236766_1894925188_n

6 thoughts on “An exciting weekend and Collegiate awards…

  1. thank you all for your kind words! It was a wonderful event and I feel very proud to be honored by my university. Will post pictures soon!

  2. That is fantastic! Congratulations and yes, agreed you are a rockstar!

  3. You are a running rock star!

  4. That is so awesome! Congrats and take lots of pictures. Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  5. Wow, congratulations! That is definitely something to celebrate and be proud of. Great way to celebrate your birthday, too!

  6. Congratulations! What an incredible honor. I also relate to what you wrote about choosing a school and being able to focus on athletics and grades as a collegiate athlete. Based on your honors, you seem to have managed both very well. 🙂 What an exciting time for you!

Leave a Reply

