The Strong Willed Child

Yesterday, I celebrated my 32nd birthday. I woke up early and ran 3.25 miles in honor of my birthday and finished up early so I could have some precious time in the morning to drink some coffee, read, and take a break before the busyness of the day and the hectic morning routine of getting up, getting ready, dropping little Miss off at school, and heading to work.

I’m only at work part-time  so I did not mention it was my birthday to my coworkers and it really was quite an uneventful day. I’m helping train a new girl, my computer had to be replaced, blah, blah blah.

After work I headed over to my parents house where we were having a little birthday dinner. My mom watches my two year old in the afternoon. She was watching her daily episode of Mickey Mouse while we visited.  We paused her show at one point to change a dirty diaper.

Which resulted in the meltdown of ALL meltdowns…

What followed was over thirty minutes of throwing a fit for a) not wanting to change her diaper and b) our refusal to let her finish watching her show because of her bad attitude and unwillingness to change her diaper…

She screamed, threw herself to the floor, tried to pull us away.

These tantrums have been happening far too often  and I have decided that I must nip them in the bud before the second baby comes or else I am going to have a rough time handling a newborn and a toddler who refuses to cooperate and proceeds to throw a tantrum if she does not get her way.

So, the tough love must begin.

Needless to say, it was not a very eventful day for my actual birthday. But, I had a great weekend and what can you really expect on a weekday birthday.

After dinner (my toddler did settle down enough to join as at the table to eat), my husband and I made it home around 7:30, bathed a very fussy toddler, and put her in bed by 8:15 or so. She finally settled down to sleep by 9:00. We were exhausted and in bed shortly thereafter.

My husband pulls out a copy of Setting Limits with Your Strong Willed Child. We need a game plan to manage this behavior! Even my mom who has raised three healthy, independent children and taken care of her grandchildren, nieces, nephews, etc. is at a loss on how to help us manage this behavior!

This morning, I ran six miles on the treadmill and asked for strength in handling my very busy, strong-willed girl.

After all, how can one girl who looks so sweet and loving be so difficult to manage? Surely, my next child will be easier, right?!?

9 thoughts on “The Strong Willed Child

  1. Found your blog through a friend of a friend. I also have a “strong willed” two year old (and an 8-month-old). Also try to fit some running into my hectic life. I’m going to check out this book that you mention. I’ll keep checking your blog. If you figure out how to handle the tantrums, let me know!

    • thanks for stopping by! I will be sure to follow your blog. Good luck with running with the kiddos. I will soon have two as well. It is tough to find time to run but a must for stress relief!

      • Lol. Just realized that your name is also Stephanie. We do, it seems, have a lot in common. I also note that my daughter has those same Dora the Explorer PJs and Baby Doll (which she insists is named “Sister”). Who knows where they come up with these things? Congrats on your second baby, and good luck! These are indeed the endurance years. They are also pretty special :-).

  2. Setting Limits for the Strong Willed Child is my go to book! It made a huge difference with my older son when we were really having a hard time with him last year (~3-3 1/2)! Hang in there! It does get better!

  3. Ohmygoodness, I am having the same kind of week! So glad I’m not the only one! L just turned 2 in January, and suddenly the tantrums have escalated to a whole new level! We just had our first 20-30 minute fit yesterday too, and it was awful. I’m writing down those books listed above as well! I’m also reading “Parenting with Love and Logic” which was recommended to me and I think they may still be young for the concepts, but it’s more of a long-term parenting strategy… not far enough yet to say if I can recommend it, but might be worth looking up. Hang in there!!

  4. Being a Mom is not for wimps.

  5. How could someone so cute give you such trouble?
    Try:
    “How to Talk So Your Kids Will Listen..” by Adele Faber
    “Your Two Year Old: Terrible or Tender?” by Louise Bates Ames
    Both on Amazon, I think.
    Bates Ames writes development books for each year and I bought them all when the boys were little.

Leave a Reply

