Week 17 (2/13-2/19)

I went through a bit of a running slump last week but ended up coming back this week with a great week! I am feeling a bit more energetic after getting through a hectic week last week.

Monday: 5 miles (8:30 pace)

Wednesday: 5 miles (8:39 pace)

Friday: 5 miles on the road (8:28 pace)

Saturday: 7 miles (8:30 pace)

Sunday: 3 miles

Total: 25 miles

I still feeling great running, but I wonder how long can I keep up my current mileage and when do you know it is time to back off/reduce your mileage. I suppose you need to listen to your body and this answer is different for every prego mom/runner.

Lately, I’m finding not having a plan is difficult for me. I like having a training plan to mix things up rather than just running the same thing every day/week.  Since I have the Mardi Gras Mambo 10k this Saturday, I may pick up an easy 10k training plan (no speed, just the mileage) for the Crescent City Classic on April 7th. By then, I will be 23+ weeks so I probably won’t sign up for this race until last minute, if I decide at all to run it because I want to see how I am feeling running wise in April before I commit to paying for a race! I also may run the Brother Eldon 5k race with my dad on March 3rd. This is an alumni race for his high school and we run this race together every year.  I will be at a an out of town wedding for one of my favorite Baton Rouge races, the Fat Boy 5k. But looking forward to celebrating for my friend’s wedding in Houston!

Mardi Gras was in full swing here last weekend in Louisiana but after Mardi Gras comes Ash Wednesday and Lent. I’ve always enjoyed Lent as a time for reflection and sacrifice. This year for lent, I’ve decided to give up Facebook and Twitter. As much as I love feeling “connected” sometimes I find myself on my computer too much. I just need to step away and disconnect. Hopefully, this will allow me more time during nap time and the evening to read more and perhaps take time for a daily devotional/bible study.

Three weeks until we find out the baby’s gender! Then I need to get very busy getting the nursery ready, pick out a new rocker, paint colors, etc.! So much to do and this pregnancy feels like it is going by so much faster than my first!

Finally, I thought I would share my favorite picture of the week. My two year old trying to convince me that she can nap in the kitchen. Yes, she did this all herself. Ah, she is going to be trouble as a teenager with her clever ways!

5 thoughts on “Week 17 (2/13-2/19)

  1. Sorry that you are gonna miss one of your favorite races…BUT…I’m soooo excited to see you and all of the other Legleus at the wedding! Cant wait!

  2. Napping in the kitchen is the best — you’re closer to the food! Great runs this week; you are an amazing pregnant lady!

  3. I think you’re doing really well for being 20+ weeks! Running didn’t work out for me when I was pregnant, so I can’t help you out with when to stop. I do know for my workouts that my body pretty much forced to me slow down at some points. 🙂

  4. Did she actually fall asleep there? My daughter would never sleep like that, how funny! Enjoy your upcoming races… I enjoying running a few smaller races when I was pregnant too, and I am definitely like you with needing a plan. 🙂 Glad you’re still feeling good and getting some great miles in!

Leave a Reply

