Taking a break…

This morning was one of those mornings where we did not get much done, but yet so far, it feels like a great day. Yesterday I was busy with work and little Miss was up late and pretty exhausted from yesterday’s morning at school, lunch bunch, and an afternoon play date. We were all tired this morning and I slept in. So, for the third morning in a row, I turned off my 5:30 am alarm clock and slept until 6:30. I’ve just been feeling a bit tired this week and figured I can use the rest. After a quiet morning in our pajamas spent coloring, playing with her dolls, and building forts, Little Miss really wanted to watch an episode of her favorite show. At one point during the morning, she was content resting in her bed (which she never does on her own), so I figured it would be good for her to rest and watch a show for 30 minutes or so. While she was preoccupied with her show, I decided to see if I could get a 4 mile run in.  I checked on her every mile (since the treadmill is in our guest room and she was watching her show in the den) and felt slightly guilty for letting her watch television while I ran, but she seemed to enjoy the break. The show ended just in time for me to finish my run.

After a quick run, we skyped the grandparents in Texas and decided to spend the rest of the morning enjoying the beautiful weather today! On the agenda was fishing at the pond in our neighborhood (we use a pretend hook since I’m not quite ready to let her use a real one), playing in her pool, and a picnic outside.  Here are some pictures of our morning. Yes, we are already on outfit number two since the first one got dirty/wet. She loves her pink sleeveless dress which she refers to as her “princess”dress since the tulle makes a nice shape when she twirls in her dress. I love this little girl! Such a sweetie!

photo DSC_0061 DSC_0068 DSC_0072 DSC_0073 DSC_0079 DSC_0081

Now, I’m going to enjoy some downtime while she naps. We are heading to a trunk show this afternoon so it should be a busy afternoon too! Hope you are all enjoying your Wednesday.

5 thoughts on “Taking a break…

  1. Such sweet pictures! She and L would have a blast together. 🙂 I savor that 30 minutes of tv some days too… glad it helped you get your run in. Someday I’m determined to get a treadmill!

    • yes, my husband got it for me as a Christmas present. I opted on having a treadmill over a gym membership. Love being able to run during nap time if I need too! I figured with #2 on the way, I won’t be hauling a newborn to a gym anytime soon so at least I can hope to get some runs on the treadmill.

  2. Need to get your recipe for that veggie smoothie! What a great idea. My Little Miss won’t TOUCH her veggies.

    Loved your entry. I’ve given in to the television thing on occasion as well. Sometimes to do the treadmill run, sometimes to keep her out of the kitchen when there’s hot things on the stove, sometimes when it’s two-kiddos-on-one-Mommy-and-I-just-can’t-handle-it-anymore (something you may soon learn about :-). Anyway, enjoyed your blog!

    Steph

    • It is so easy and my toddler loves it.

      Here is the classic version:

      1 banana
      2 cups spinach
      1-1.5 cups milk (I use vanilla soy milk)
      1 cup ice
      I also add it 1 TB or so of peanut butter ever now and then.

      She loves it! And yes, I am thankful for a tv show every now and then so I can cook, take a break, or just have some time to actually get something done!!

Leave a Reply

