Week 21 (3/11-3/17)

Okay, so I am a little behind on posting my weekly recap but last week was not a very stellar running week for me so I have been procrastinating posting.

Wednesday: 5 miles (8:52 pace)

Thursday: 3 miles (8:49 pace)

Friday: 5 miles (8:48 pace)

Total: 13 miles

Running has been a lot more challenging lately. My body is more tired these days and it takes longer for me to recover. Lately, my legs feel so heavy and after about 5 miles, I am done! I’m amazed at some mama’s to be who continue to run up to 10 miles at a time at this point in their pregnancy! My body does better doing shorter runs. My pace is slowing down but I am trying to focus on running by feel and not worrying about pace. So, if my body needs to slow down, that is fine with me.

On Friday morning, my mom and I took a road trip with Little Miss to visit my in-laws in Texas. My husband has been working weekends since January and could not make the trip but it was nice to get out of town and have some help with Little Miss on the weekend. While I planned to try and get a run in, our schedule was busy and I figured if there is any time I can not worry about running and give myself a break, this is the time! Instead we had a great visit with family, took the kids fishing, and even got out for a girls outing to get a mani/pedi! So relaxing! Some pictures from our trip:

DSC_0014

DSC_0021

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

DSC_0037

We had a great visit but taking a road trip with a two year old is quite challenging. She does not sleep much in the car and trying to get her to fall asleep in a different environment is tough. But, she really enjoyed spending time with her aunts, uncles, cousin, and grandparents so it was worth the effort. Next weekend, we will be heading up to Nashville to see my sister. This is an 8+ hour drive for us. It should be interesting but I am looking forward to spending some time with my sister and her family.

Any tips on keeping toddlers busy on road trips? She does like to watch her movies on dvd but gets very antsy in her car seat!

One thought on “Week 21 (3/11-3/17)

  1. You’re still running… and am pretty impressive pace for pregnancy, good for you! Glad you got to see family, sounds like a fun weekend. Road trips are so tough. I think the longest we’ve done is 4 hours, and that was plenty. 🙂 Now we have to fly to see family. L gets so antsy, too… we try to plan it over nap time as she will sleep for an hour or so, but not much more than that. We stop for breaks to run around, try to pack new toys or books (maybe hit the library before you go?) and often one of us ends up in the back with her which keeps her happy. It’s better than whining or screaming. I don’t have many other tips– but could use some! I’ll be curious to hear what works for you.

Leave a Reply

