Week 23 (3/26-4/1) and 24 (4/2-4/8)

I realized that I have not taken the time to do my weekly recap from last week. I was so busy last week that I just did not take the time out to blog! Here is how last two weeks went.

Week 23:

Tuesday: 4 miles

Wednesday: 4 miles

Friday: 4 miles (hilly run in Nashville)

Sunday: 2.5 mile run/walk with my sister and brother in law in Nashville who are training for a 5k in May.

This was a very busy week (but aren’t they all:). We spent Wednesday to Monday in Nashville visiting my sister and her baby

Total: 14.5 miles

Week 24:

Wednesday: 4 miles

Thursday: 4 miles

Friday: 5 miles

Saturday: 7 miles

Total: 20 miles

Little Miss and I took a trip to Nashville the last weekend of March to see my sister and her family for my niece’s baptism. My mom and I survived a 10 hour road trip in the car with a two year old! All I have to say is THANK YOU DVD player for helping get us through this trip because she only slept 45 minutes on the way up and maybe an hour going home. Seriously, aren’t all kids supposed to sleep in the car?!?

I got to get a nice run in during my visit to Nashville and the hills were tough but I was so happy to be running in a new area. Most of my runs are done on the 1.5 mile loop around my neighborhood and that can get a little boring. As tough as the hills are, I wish we had more of them to help with training as they do make you a stronger runner. Plus, I got to go on a run with my sister and her husband who are training for a 5k in May. This is her first race post-baby so it is always nice to encourage other new runners.

Now that April is here, my husband has one week until the tax filing deadline and he will be home on the weekends. Lately, I have been trying to have a good attitude and am thankful he has a job that allows me to stay at home but the long days and weekend with a two year old, at 24 weeks pregnant, are challenging. It seems I have a very busy, and a times very demanding two year old who is frequent to tantrums if things don’t quite go her way. I’m tired of being the solo disciplinarian as my husband is usually gone before she is up and is home after she is in bed, asleep. I feel like my no’s don’t have any affect on her anymore and really need to set up some rules/discipline before life gets too busy with baby #2. I think when I get tired I tend to let things go, discipline wise. Plus, with all the Easter candy she got from school hunts, grandparents, etc. and movies she got to watch on her trips have left her wanting candy and tv. I’m seriously thinking about putting a hiatus on both until she evens out a bit and learns to be less demanding!

Alright, off to start another busy week with little Miss. We are heading to Houston this weekend for a wedding so the break in routine will be nice. Thankfully, it is only a four hour drive which seems like a quick trip after our long journey to Nashville. I hope to get a run in the city during my visit! Hope everyone had a nice, blessed Easter!

Pictures from the week:

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

DSC_0021

DSC_0028

2 thoughts on “Week 23 (3/26-4/1) and 24 (4/2-4/8)

  1. I’m so glad the end is in sight for you– long days plus weekends would be so hard, I seriously don’t know if I could do it, and I’m not even pregnant. 2 yo’s can be quite demanding! L keeps me on my toes too, and it’s always reassuring to know I’m not the only one with a spirited little one. 🙂 How fun that you’ll be in Houston! I would love to meet up or join you for an easy run, but I don’t know how feasible that is for a quick wedding trip… I’m running a 5k Sat morning but would love to do something really slow and easy on Sunday. Feel free to email me if you think we could work something out!

  2. Great post and I love keeping up with y’all’s lives! I hear you about the discplinary actions and just being worn out by the end of the day. Kyle is getting his MBA and has class a Monday nights and Saturdays and then works every other Sunday, so I definitely feel your pain. I’m EXHAUSTED by the end of the day and I think Trent knows it. 🙂 Stay strong though and definitely take breaks when you can. I would second your thought about getting things under control (or at least trying…can we ever get things under complete control 🙂 ) before baby gets here in August. Is that right? Enjoy the time with just 1 as it defintiely picks up pace after baby #2. 🙂 Have fun in Houston!

Leave a Reply

