What Happened to my Running?

Yesterday (5/15) was the first run I went on since the GOTR 5k (5/5). Yikes!

What happened to my running?

  • The Sunday after GOTR 5k was spent celebrating my mom’s birthday
  • Monday I woke up feeling sick and worn down
  • Still feeling sick on Tuesday and missed work for being sick for the first time in a very long time
  • Went to work on Wednesday and had to finish packing for our trip
  • Woke up very early Thursday to catch a flight to Savannah for my cousin’s wedding
  • Spent Thursday to Sunday with my family celebrating the wedding weekend and enjoying my first visit to Savannah.

I know you have to make time to exercise but when I am feeling run down during my pregnancy, I don’t push myself to squeeze in workouts. Pregnancy is not the time to push your body when you are not feeling 100%. Running during the third trimester for me is challenging! My legs feel dead, my hips ache, and it takes longer for me to recover. Running four miles feels like a huge accomplishment. The goal is to run or run/walk as long as I can but I am amazed at moms to be who keep up higher mileages during their third trimester. I just feel very heavy and awkward. I know my first run post-baby will be tough but I miss feeling light on my feet and being able to bend over and tie my shoelaces!

I ran yesterday morning and by the time I came back home from work yesterday evening, I was tired and sore! But the goods news is I tried out my amazing mother’s day present…

garmin-410-high-2010-10-04-386

The Garmin 410! I loved my 205 but the satellite took forever to load and it was so big and clunky on my small wrists. Of course, I never even mentioned wanting a new one to my husband as I can’t justify spending money on a watch that still worked but I took it out for a run yesterday and am really happy with the upgrade. The satellite/GPS was ready before I got to the end of my driveway. Usually, I have to stretch, wait, stretch some more. I also got some fancy headphones.

On a personal note, things are starting to get exciting as we prepare for baby girl # 2. My husband spent the weekend while we were out of town getting the nursery ready and converting Little Miss’s room into a “big girl” room. It was so great to come home and have everything ready for me to start setting up the nursery. I am very happy he got this done because we just received news that he will be working on a project out of town (New Orleans) for a month in June so he won’t have time during the week to work on these projects. Yikes, at 30+ weeks I will be a single parent during the week while he is assigned to a project. Let’s just hope they finish up by July because I have a feeling this baby will make an appearance before her due date.

photo (2)

Ready to take off

photo

Cousins at the park

photo (3)

Ready for the wedding

3 thoughts on “What Happened to my Running?

  1. Hello there, I discovered your website via Google while looking for a similar topic, your site got
    here up, it appears to be like great. I have bookmarked
    it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just become aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is truly informative.

    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate should you
    continue this in future. Numerous other people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  2. I’m sure that extra week of rest did your body good! I remember feeling that way in the 3rd trimester, too. 4 or 5 miles becomes a huge accomplishment! How exciting to start getting the nursery all set up– you’re getting so close!

  3. Take good care of yourself! You’ll be back to your speedy self in no time.

Leave a Reply

