Changes

I feel like as a mom, my life is one big set of changes.

Once you get used to one routine, things change (e.g., nap schedules, toddler bed transition, potty training, etc.).

Don’t get me wrong, I like change. It keeps life interesting. But as I sit back today, I realize how much my life will change once again in just two short months.

Today is my last day at my part-time job. My husband and I weighed the pros and cons of it, and staying home with our family is the best option for us. I have been so blessed by my employer to work on a part-time basis with a very flexible schedule, but I feel staying home is the right decision for me.

In less than two months, we will go from being a family of three to a family of four. I know things will be hectic those first few months with a toddler and a newborn, but I have no idea what to expect. No one could have ever prepared me for life as a parent, but I’m just letting go of all expectations and am going to focus on enjoying this time in our lives. This can be challenging for me as I am a very structured, routine person, but I love that my daughter teaches me to laugh, play, and just let some things go! She has such a joy and enthusiasm for life that I find so refreshing and inspiring.

So, I’m off to finish up my last day at work and then enjoy some time with my husband’s family this week. Life is about to get very busy but fun. Stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “Changes

  1. I think learning to “go with the flow” is one of the most important lessons we all need to learn. It is definitely easier for some than for others, but one well worth perfecting.

  2. That is a big step! I switched from working p/t to staying home f/t last summer when we moved, and it was a bit of an adjustment. Like you, I like routines and structure. But we’ve found our own rhythm and now I love it! Give yourself some time to adjust, but I’m sure you’ll find ways to make it work. Those are exciting changes!

  3. What an exciting change. You will be great!

  4. Good luck! I found life with a newborn and toddler quite challenging, but fun. I was much more relaxed with the second little one and was able to enjoy her more as a newborn.

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

