Week 33

Wow! It is hard to believe that I will be starting my 34th week of pregnancy this Monday.  While I thought I was going to have to hang up my running shoes for the rest of my pregnancy, I was actually able to get some run/walks in last week. I find running three miles all together is really tough on my body but I have been doing some run/walk workouts so at least I am getting SOME running in, right?

Training for the week:

Monday: 2.5 mile run/walk on the treadmill. Ran 5 minutes at 6.0 and walked 5 minutes at 4.0 for 2.5 miles. 32 wks today!

Wednesday: 3 miles. Had to run at least one mile in honor of national running day! Walked .25 miles, ran 1 mile, then walked .25, ran .50 miles until I got to 3 miles. Feel good but had some cramping.

Thursday: 3 miles – repeat of Wednesday’s workout

Saturday: 3.5 miles – Walked 5 minutes, ran ~ 7 minutes (to complete) a mile for three miles. Then finished off with .5 mile walk/cooldown.

Total: 12 miles

I was hoping to get one more workout in on Sunday but my back has been really bothering me towards the end of the day and I slept in so just decided to leave it as a rest day.

Part of me wants to be THAT running mom who runs here ENTIRE pregnancy but with the heat, my husband working out of town during the week, and taking care of a toddler, I feel pretty good about getting these workouts in. I can’t wait for the fall when things start to cool off and I will be able to start running again.

This week, I took a mini vacation and met my husband at the hotel while Little Miss had a sleepover at my parents. Let’s just say that ever 24 hours away where I had time to have dinner and lunch with my husband, workout, read, and lounge for the pool was wonderful!

I am in full nesting mode and am trying to enjoy this downtime while Little Miss is in summer school/preschool to have some time to relax and get ready for the baby.

Of course, I am dreaming of building mileage in the fall and setting my sights eventually on another marathon. I have only one run one marathon and I think my mileage was dreadfully low. I have been looking online for training plans and know of several (Hal Higdon, Smart Coach, CoolRunning, etc.) but if you have any any recommended marathon training plans, please let me know!

 

2 thoughts on “Week 33

  1. Isn’t it funny that we push ourselves even in pregnancy, when most women are loving the excuse to be extra lazy?! Glad to see you’re enjoying at least some extra relaxation! Marathon training- I’ll be curious to see what you end up with. Mine was really low for my first too (I topped at 40 miles and only did one 20 miler) – I really felt it in those final 4-5 miles. I know I need to add more 20’s next time around!

    • yes, I keep telling myself that I should just give up running/exercise and enjoy these last few weeks but when I don’t do anything I just feel lazy and unmotivated, so I may as well keep it up:)

      I’ll let you know if I find any good plans or what I decide on the marathon training. Not going to jump into marathon training right away but want to start doing some research while I build mileage.

Leave a Reply

