Summertime and Week 35

Ever since I quit my job at the end of May, I feel like I have been on permanent vacation. Little Miss has been going to a summer program on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday mornings (I signed her up before I knew I would be quitting my job so I could have childcare at her preschool while I was working two days/week).  Since she has enjoyed her preschool so much, I figured it would not hurt to have some time in the mornings while she is in school to get ready for the second baby.

My husband has been working out of town during the week. So, I have not had to worry about cooking or grocery shopping. When he is home, I do TRY to cook 3-4 times/week. Some weeks are better than others and I’m lucky to have a husband who is very easygoing with food. If I’ve had a long day and no time to cook, we have cereal, peanut butter and jelly, etc. I’ve done some simple cooking for me and little miss but I love not having to worry about meals.

My sister has her summer off and is in town visiting for two weeks with her son and daughter. Last week, we all had a sleepover for a few days at my parents house. I feel like a kid again when I go back home and I love spending time with her family too. We took the kids out for breakfast one morning, had frozen yogurt in the evening and browsed the bookstore, did some shopping, and spent our evenings reading books, watching movies. In the mornings, we visit in our  pj’s, drink coffee, and let the babies play. I love having this time with my mom and sister.

So, workouts for week 35 were going okay until Thursday…

Monday: 3.75 miles Walked .25 miles to warm up, ran 2 miles, walked .25 miles, ran one mile, then walked .25 to cool down. First time I ran two consecutive miles in a while. Feeling more energetic today so decided to do some more running. #34 weeks!

Tuesday: Walked 2.5 miles

Thursday: 3.25 miles Walked .25 miles, ran 1 mile, walked .25 miles, ran 1 mile, walked .25 miles, ran .5 miles. Thankful for a cooler morning so I could workout!

Total: 9.5 miles

I was feeling great with my walk/runs! But on Thursday, my back started really bothering me. It has been hurting me since. It feels okay when I am sitting but hurts when I stand or walk. I have been trying to rest and stay off my feet but it still continues to hurt. Most likely, I think I strained it picking up my toddler or something heavy by not lifting properly.  I have not been able to walk or run since. My husband has been helping with my two year old, but it is really hard for me to rest all day when I want to get things done around the house or take my daily run/walks. With only a few weeks to go and the full heat of summer upon us, I’m just feeling heavy, hot, and lazy.

Meanwhile, I have been glued to the Olympic trials coverage! I loved watching the 10k race and seeing Hastings pull off a win. I can’t wait for the Olympics this summer. And I was so happy to see our hometown runner, Lolo Jones qualify for the Olympics in the hurdles.

r620-d10312aea20c45dba01efffc44d1d8cb

Source

200px-LoloJones2008

Source

All this competition is really motivating me to get back into running post-baby. My due date is officially at the end of July, but I think this baby will be here in 3-4 weeks. Just in time for fall and hopefully cooler temperatures! I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Summertime and Week 35

  1. So cool that a hometown runner made it! I’m excited to watch them, too. I’m so sorry about your back- it’s so frustrating to not be able to do the things we want to. Hope it starts to feel better… and what a treat to have a few mornings to yourself! L’s doing a program two mornings a week too, and I am loving it. 🙂

  2. I’m sure your back will feel better once you’ve had the baby… I hear you about weekday meals. It is such a relief to not have to cook a few nights a week!

Leave a Reply

