Postpartum Fitness

Tomorrow, I begin my 37th week of pregnancy! I am in the final homestretch and am to the point of my pregnancy where I am excited to meet our new daughter but am also ready to have my body back!  Watching the Olympic track trials is really motivating me to want to get back into shape! I truly believe in taking your time to return to your pre-baby shape. There is no need to rush into things but being the organized person that I am, I like to have a plan to follow to help me get back on track. I found some great articles on-line about postpartum fitness and running.

In addition to starting off with cardio very slowly (e.g.,  taking 15 to 20 minute walks once you have recovered from the delivery and your body is up to doing some light cardio), there are also some great stability/core exercises that you can focus on post-baby to begin to rebuild your core strength. Since most women won’t have the time or energy to head to the gym or sign up for an exercise class until at least six weeks post-partum, here are some exercises I found that you can do at home until you are able to join a group class or begin a formal exercise program. Of course, please consult your doctor before you begin any exercise program.

You can refer to the articles below for descriptions but here are some great, simple exercises that I hope to build on to regain my core strength.

  1. Kegal Exercises
  2. Pelvic Tilts
  3. Push-ups
  4. Planks
  5. Step-ups
  6. Lunges
  7. Hamstring curls
  8. Balancing arm curls

Up and Running

Come Back Strong

And of course, always listen to your body and take the time to let yourself heal and recover post-baby! I know for me those first few weeks were bit of a blur, filled with utter exhaustion and joy!

And for all you #runnerds who are following the Olympic trials like me, I can’t wait for the beginning of the Olympics late July. I am so excited to watch all the talented distance runners compete in London.

Morgan Uceny and Jenny Simpson in the Women’s 1500 meter race
Source: http://www.flotrack.org

3 thoughts on “Postpartum Fitness

  1. May want to wait on doing planks until the rectus ab. muscles are back together again. Gravity makes it hard to hold everything where it should be and might separate abs more. (I’m a PT specializing in pregnant and post partum runners). Good luck!

  2. Great tips! Congrats on being so close to the end… I’m so excited for you! And I love the new blog look! Mine desperately needs a new header and I’m trying to figure out what to do. I love how clean yours is!

Leave a Reply

