around the house

In my effort so prevent exposing youngest to the germs of the public (at least until she is closer to six weeks), we have been spending a lot of time at home. Since oldest won’t start school until after labor day, we have been creative in our efforts to stay busy around the house. Usually, this involves finger-painting, building with her blocks, playing house, cooking in the kitchen, and outside play in the morning/afternoon when it is not too hot.

Today, I caught some pictures of oldest giving her sister a “bath.” She is such a little mama and loves to help with her baby sister. She is not always as gentle as I would like her to be so I have to keep a constant eye on her when she is around the baby, but I love the she wants to help with youngest. Let’s just hope she does not suffocate her trying to snuggle and hug on her!

DSC_0013 DSC_0007 DSC_0008 DSC_0009 DSC_0010

I am so thankful for the help of parents, my husband, and family/friends who have been helping with oldest. They have been taking oldest for outings in the afternoon so that I can have some time to bond with the baby and get a few things done around the house since I don’t have a lot of spare time anymore. Usually, by the time I get youngest fed, relaxed, and asleep in her bassinet, oldest wakes up shortly after that. Parenting is definitely a 24/7 job. As difficult of a job it is to raise two young children, I’m just so grateful to have a supportive family and husband who works hard so that I can have this time with my girls at home.

Once we get oldest settled for bed, I usually sneak away for a late evening walk around the neighborhood while my husband bonds with youngest. It is always so great to get out for a walk and get some fresh air. I’ve also finally started some strength work (planks, push-ups, bicep curls, tricep dips, lunges, bridge pose). Yikes, my legs were so sore after lunges. But, it feels so great to actually move and get in some exercise after weeks of inactivity after hurting my back/SI joint. So ready for my six week checkup and some time to build up my fitness again in September.

2 thoughts on “around the house

  1. Adorable pictures! I’m glad your oldest is wanting to be a big helper. 🙂 Great job incorporating some strength back in, you’ll be out running again before long!

  2. It sounds like y’all are doing great, Steph and I’m so happy she is sleeping alot for you! Enjoy it! 🙂 It definitely is different with 2 isn’t it? Never a dull moment and hard to find “Steph time” but I’m glad you are finding it. I hope everything continues to go well and you are able to really exercise soon. It will come soon enough! 🙂 Tell Keith hi for us.

Leave a Reply

