Making progress

Mileage from last week:

Tuesday: 2 miles (9:03 pace)

Wednesday: 2.5 miles (8:41 pace)

Saturday: 3.1 (miles 8:59 pace)

Total: 7.6 miles

Youngest is just over seven weeks and I am seeing progress on so many levels. I was able to run three times last week, for a total of over 7.5 miles! The first run was an early morning run after I fed her (5ish am!), the second was a tough late evening run after my husband came home from work (8 pm), and the third was a Saturday morning run outside before my family even woke up for the day. I ran Saturday and missed the cool front that came through South Louisiana on Sunday. My weekend run on Saturday was hot, humid, and painful but at least I got in some miles. My pace is slow, yet I feel like I can’t go one step faster. I know it will take time to get back to my pre-race shape so I am just going to work on building mileage and not get too caught up on my pace. Speed will come later.

Youngest continues to amaze me. She is such a sweet baby. On Friday night, she slept from 9pm to 6 am! I woke up thinking my husband gave her a bottle in the middle of the night, which he sometimes does to help me catch up on sleep on the weekend. But, she slept the whole night. I don’t count on this being a habit just yet but it was great to know she is making progress and sleeping so well. We took her to the doctor last week and at just under two months, she was 9 lbs 4 ounces. She is starting to smile and be awake during the time and it is so cute to watch her grow and change each day.

Oldest started school last week and loves it. This is great because when I enrolled her in the summer program, she cried every time I dropped her off:( With her in school, it was nice to have some time last week to run errands, get some things done around the house, go to my mom’s group, and spend some time with youngest. My toddler is not overly jealous, but I do find her demanding my attention more when I am trying to tend to youngest. She is so busy and I continue to be impressed with her imagination and creativity. She loves building forts and finding ways to imitate things she sees (cooking/making soup with her buckets, shovels and water, bathing her play ponies, making trains with her bikes/toys, playing house with her dolls/animals). She makes me laugh and smile every day.

The toughest adjustment to life with two is trying to get them both situated. I get one down for a nap and the other is fussy, hungry, needs a diaper change, help on the potty, etc. Or, I finally get youngest ready to put down for a nap in her room and oldest rushes in to tell me she has to go to the restroom and wakes up youngest! I can’t even imagine how chaotic life with 3+ kids would be. One day at a time.

I hope to keep up my running this week and at some point try to figure out how to add in some strength training. I found out I have a common condition called diastis recti in which your abs separate after pregnancy. You have to avoid certain abdominal exercises/yoga poses. Until this is corrected, I have to be careful about a workout routine I take on until I can get my abs back in shape/healed. But, I need to start some weights and strength work. I have neglected strength work too long and need to focus on this to improve my running and body shape. Strength add so much to your stamina in a race and I always find my upper body tires out towards the end of long runs and races.

Well, I just finished my early morning run, two miles before 6:15 am. Off to stretch, drink coffee, and get ready for the day. I’ll finish off with some pictures from last week.

DSC_0012DSC_0010 DSC_0013 DSC_0014 DSC_0017

3 thoughts on “Making progress

  1. thank you all for the encouragement. It just feels great to have the weight off (well, the majority of it:) and to be able to run again pain-free. So thankful for my sweet, healthy girls!

  2. Stephanie — Your girls are both so beautiful! The baby is adorable and the older one has gotten so big. I am impressed that you are already running so much. I had the same ab issue you have, I think. Your speed will be back in no time!

  3. Congrats on getting back to running! Sounds like you’re all doing so well, with the normal chaos that comes with young kiddos. 🙂 Love those pics- littlest is just precious, and big sister looks so proud with her school bag!

Leave a Reply

