friday ramblings…on motherhood and running

I have not sat down to blog in a while. I don’t have a preference for how many readers I have for this blog, so I don’t’ feel any pressure to write a certain number of posts a week/month. I started this as an outlet for me to record my days as a young mom. I love looking back at old posts and reading about my days when Oldest was just a baby. Now that I have two young children, I hope to be able to look back on this blog and remember the craziness of my young motherhood days!

So, back to the lack of blogging. Since I don’t have a lot of breaks during the day, by the time evening comes and the kids are in bed, I am either catching up on folding laundry, dishes, etc. or so tired that all I want to do is sit on the couch, drink a glass of wine, and watch episodes of Law & Order:SVU!! I don’t watch much television mostly because I feel like it is just a waste of time and I don’t really enjoy most of the shows on these days. But, I must admit, I love Law & Order SVU and am anxiously awaiting the return of Downtown Abby!!!

But today, the stars aligned and my oldest is napping AT THE SAME TIME as my youngest! So, not only was I able to get in a quick 20 minute powernap but I have time to sit down and blog too! I suppose I should be using this time to do something productive like cook, organize, or clean. But, I am not in a productive mode and want to just enjoy some quiet time to sit, drink my coffee, and write! Oh, and I apologize in advance for the grammatical errors that this post might contain, Like I said, I don’t have a lot of time to sit and edit on the computer, so sometimes I miss things! My history professors would probably berate me for my bad writing, but I’m not getting a grade on this so, I’m not to worried about it.

As I mentioned, life is busy! Youngest rolled over for the first time this week.  I was worried that it might take her longer because she does not get as much mat time as I would like. She is usually in the car with me in the morning running errands and bring oldest to school, in my arms, or safely in her swing where I know oldest can’t cause any harm. Yes, oldest is very sweet with her baby sister but is very hands on and wants to handle her the minute I take my eye off her.  Since she no longer naps, I have to keep an eye on her and the baby all the time.

Oldest is as busy as ever. At times, my patience with her fades as she is so busy and with the lack of naps, the afternoons are difficult as my patience runs out and she gets fussy and tired. One thing I do lack in at times is patience so I suppose God gave this child to me to teach me patience and to let go of my need to control/organize everything. Because nothing is every controlled or organized with a very busy, curious three year old.

On to running….I ran my first post-baby 5k last weekend, the Holidays Hustle. I really had no expectations for this race and figured I would use it is a fun, tempo run. My splits were:

  • 7:09
  • 7:21
  • 7:25

I clocked the 5k (or 3.04 miles on my Garmin) at 22:13. I did stop my watch once to get some water mid-way through the race because I was dying of thirst! This is something that I have NEVER done during a 5k race but the race started at 9:30 and was very warm. Usually, fall weather arrives in late Baton Rouge by early October, but temperatures have been warm this month and the highs have been in the upper 80s! Added with the humidity we have here, it is still very warm out there when you run.  Plus, the added dehydration from nursing a baby and the lack of running in the heat over the summer (I run on the treadmill since it is so early and hate running in the dark), I was definitely not ready or used to the heat.

A cool front is supposed to come through this weekend, so I am praying for some cool weather as I start to increase my mileage for the winter. I have been running about 17-19 miles for the past few weeks so I hope to start building on this in preparation for a January half marathon. I am coaching a great group of girls, some of whom are training for their first half marathon. So, I am excited about helping them prepare and run this race.  I have my eyes on a marathon in 2013 so if I am going to buckle down and go for a Boston Qualifying time, I need to start building strength and mileage now.

alright, enough rambling for now. Off to enjoy the rest of my quiet time and get ready for some fun family activities this weekend!

One thought on “friday ramblings…on motherhood and running

  1. I always enjoy your updates! I’m so glad you had an overlapped nap for a change. Did your daughter mostly stop napping? Mine has been really resisting it the last two weeks, the big girl bed does not help. I know she’s tired, but she gets up and plays instead of sleeping… argh! I knew this day would come, just didn’t think it would be so soon.
    Congrats on your 5k and building back your strength and endurance- you’re making great progress!

Leave a Reply

